Los Angeles Piano Quartet Opens Music at Amherst Series

September 20, 2000
Contact: Director of Media Relations

AMHERST, Mass.—The Los Angeles Piano Quartet will open the 2000-01 Music at Amherst Series on Friday, Oct. 13, at 8 p.m. in Buckley Recital Hall at Amherst College. The program includes piano quartets by Beethoven and Brahms, and John Harbison’s “November 19, 1828: Hallucination in Four Episodes,” a 1988 meditation on the death and life of Franz Schubert.

The Los Angeles Piano Quartet consists of Ayako Yoshida, violin, Katherine Murdock, viola, Peter Rejto, cello, and Zak Bjerken, piano. The Quartet made its debut at The Music Center in Los Angeles in 1977, and its European debut at the Cheltenham Festival in England. They have played all over Europe and North America, and have been frequent guests on “St. Paul Sunday Morning,” from Minnesota Public Radio. Recordings by the Los Angeles Piano Quartet are available on MusicMasters (Dvorak and Schumann) and Pickwick (Fauré.)

The Los Angeles Times recently praised the Quartet for its “deliberate abandon, its risky gambits none the less thrilling for the practiced confidence with which they were taken.” Admission to the concert is $18, senior citizens $15, and students $5. Tickets may be reserved by calling 542-2195 on weekday mornings. The Amherst College Concert Office has a Website at http://www.amherst.edu/~concerts/ .




Office of Communications
79 South Pleasant Street
Amherst MA 01002
(413) 542-2321

Follow Amherst

Amherst Postage Stamp IconSubscribe to the biweekly eNews by emailing alumni@amherst.edu. See past issues.

facebook Amherst on Facebook

twitter Amherst on Twitter

RSS Feed News Releases RSS