Amherst College Orchestra Celebrates the Class of ’06 and Mozart April 8

March 30, 2006
Director of Media Relations

AMHERST, Mass.—The Amherst College Orchestra will celebrate its graduating class of 2006 and the 250th birthday of Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart in its annual senior concerto concert at 8 p.m. on Saturday, April 8, in Buckley Recital Hall in the Arms Music Center at Amherst College. Tickets are $5 and are free to Amherst College students. Reservations can be made at

Three seniors will perform three complete concertos by the Viennese master. Orchestra president and French horn section co-principal Hikaru Okamoto ’06 will open the concert with the boisterous Horn Concerto No. 2 in E-flat major, K. 417. Woodwind section leader Paul Park ’06 will then perform Mozart’s final instrumental work, the sublime Clarinet Concerto in A major, K.622. The concert will close with the fiery and dramatic Piano Concerto No. 20 in D minor, K.466, with music honors graduate Tamina Park ’06 as soloist. Rob Lane ’05 and Mark Lane Swanson will conduct the Amherst College Orchestra.




Office of Communications
79 South Pleasant Street
Amherst MA 01002
(413) 542-2321

Follow Amherst

Amherst Postage Stamp IconSubscribe to the biweekly eNews by emailing See past issues.

facebook Amherst on Facebook

twitter Amherst on Twitter

RSS Feed News Releases RSS