Meeting of the Special Oversight Committee on Sexual Misconduct

November 27, 2012

Present were Sarah Barr, Director of Academic Engagement Programs, Center for Community Engagement; Professor Jack Cheney, Associate Dean of the Faculty; Suzanne Coffey, Director of Athletics and Title IX Coordinator; attorney Leslie Gomez of the Philadelphia-based firm Ballard Spahr; Professor Margaret Hunt (Chair); Marian Matheson, Director of Institutional Research and Planning (of counsel to the committee); Professor Marisa Parham; Dianne Piermattei, Assistant to the Secretary of the Board of Trustees (staff liaison to the committee); Susan Pikor, Chief of Staff, President’s Office, and Secretary of the Board of Trustees; Liya Rechtman ’14; Janet Tobin, Assistant Dean of the Faculty (recorder); and Robert Wasielewski ’14.  Trustees Andrew Nussbaum ’85 and Paula Rauch ’77 participated by speaker phone. The meeting began at 5:00 p.m. and ended at 7:00 p.m.

The meeting focused on issues surrounding the structure, resources, and approach of the Dean of Students Office and ways to enhance its services and provide better support for survivors of sexual assault and misconduct.  Conversation continued about ways in which the Counseling Center might be strengthened, as well as ways to better integrate the services offered through the various College structures that support student life.  In advance of the meeting, the members had been provided with a number of reports that informed the discussion.