Meeting of the Special Oversight Committee on Sexual Misconduct

December 20, 2012

Present were Sarah Barr, Director of Academic Engagement Programs, Center for Community Engagement; Professor Jack Cheney, Associate Dean of the Faculty; Suzanne Coffey, Director of Athletics and Title IX Coordinator; Professor Marisa Parham; Dianne Piermattei, Assistant to the Secretary of the Board of Trustees (staff liaison to the committee); Susan Pikor, Chief of Staff, President’s Office, and Secretary of the Board of Trustees; and Janet Tobin, Assistant Dean of the Faculty (recorder). Professor Margaret Hunt (Chair); attorneys Leslie Gomez and Gina Smith of the Philadelphia-based firm Ballard Spahr; and trustees Andrew Nussbaum ’85 and Paula Rauch ’77 participated by speaker phone. Absent were Marian Matheson, Director of Institutional Research and Planning (of counsel to the committee); Liya Rechtman ’14; and Robert Wasielewski ’14. The meeting began at 5:00 p.m. and ended at 7:00 p.m.

Ms. Coffey presented an overview of the Title IX Committee’s emerging policy recommendations and responded to suggestions and questions from the members of the SMOC. Among the topics discussed were the policy’s statement of institutional values; its purpose and scope; and ways in which it addresses sexual harassment, including prohibited conduct (sexual misconduct and sexual violence) under this umbrella, and discrimination; and issues surrounding consent, the role of alcohol, personal relationships among constituencies at the college, privacy and confidentiality, bystander intervention, available resources, reporting, and the hearing process.