Meeting of the Special Oversight Committee on Sexual Misconduct

January 10, 2013

Present were Sarah Barr, Director of Academic Engagement Programs, Center for Community Engagement; Professor Jack Cheney, Associate Dean of the Faculty; Suzanne Coffey, Director of Athletics and Title IX Coordinator; Professor Margaret Hunt (chair); Marian Matheson, Director of Institutional Research and Planning (of counsel to the committee); Professor Marisa Parham; Dianne Piermattei, Assistant to the Secretary of the Board of Trustees (staff liaison to the committee); Susan Pikor, Chief of Staff, President’s Office, and Secretary of the Board of Trustees; and Janet Tobin, Assistant Dean of the Faculty (recorder). Attorneys Leslie Gomez and Gina Smith of the Philadelphia-based firm Ballard Spahr and Trustees Andrew Nussbaum ’85 and Paula Rauch ’77 participated by speaker phone. Absent were Liya Rechtman ’14, and Robert Wasielewski ’14. The meeting began at 5:00 p.m. and ended at 7:00 p.m.

At its last formal meeting, the members finalized the committee’s recommendations and reviewed the draft-in-progress of its report. It was agreed that the members would continue to work on remaining sections and would offer commentary and edits electronically to the chair. Everyone would then review the final draft of the report.