Center for Community Engagement

Equity Project

About the Equity Project

The Multicultural Resource Center, the Center for Community Engagement, and the Amherst-Pelham Regional Public Schools are partnering to pilot the Equity Project, a mentorship project working to address issues of racial climate and culture in the ARPS.

The Equity Project brings together students from Amherst College and Amherst Regional High School to engage in collaborative, intergenerational work. Grounded in social justice thinking, the Equity Project will build capacity and power for students to change their environment.

Read about the Equity Project from the perspective of Siraj Sindhu '17, an Amherst College student working with the project in its inaugural year.

Trainings and Events

August Training Weekend

August 22, 23 and 24      

Location Amherst Middle School

Dinner with AC staff (Karen, Molly and Mariana) and  Equity Leaders

Friday, September 26th at 6:15pm
Location: Molly's Office in the CCE

Wed Oct 1

  • 2:30-5pm: Meet with Calvin & ARHS Intergenerational Equity Cohort & AC Equity Project students
  • PD Center at Amherst Regional Middle School (170 Chestnut St). Park in side lot and enter school through side entrance.  Buzzer on left near door. ood will be served but students can bring their own snacks as long as it doesn't contain nuts.

Thur Oct 2

Students can attend one or all assemblies based on Calvin's instructions. 8am-11:30am:     ARMS Auditorium (170 Chestnut St). 12noon-2:20pm:  ARHS Auditorium (21 Mattoon St). 

Fri Oct 3

  • 10am-2pm: Calvin meets with ARHS Student Affinity Group leaders & AC Project Equity students
  • PD Center at Amherst Regional Middle School (170 Chestnut St). Park in side lot and enter school through side entrance.  Buzzer on left near door. Food will be served but students can bring their own snacks as long as it doesn't contain nuts.

October Training Weekend: Mission, Vision, Core Values & Action Planning

  • Friday, October 10 from 5-9 pm (Location: Lewis Sebring in Valentine Hall.  Dinner in Valentine Dining Hall)
  • Saturday, October 11 from 9 am - 5pm (light breakfast of assorted Coffee Cakes, Tea Breads, Petit Scone and Bagels with Cream Cheese, Assorted Juices, Coffee, Decaf and Assorted Teas in Powerhouse, lunch will be in Valentine Dining Hall). Location: Amherst College Powerhouse (brick building on the corner of East Drive and Barret Hill Drive)
  • Sunday, October 12 from 9 am until 12 noon (light breakfast of assorted Coffee Cakes, Tea Breads, Petit Scone and Bagels with Cream Cheese, Assorted Juices, Coffee, Decaf and Assorted Teas in Powerhouse). Location: Amherst College Powerhouse (brick building on the corner of East Drive and Barret Hill Drive)

Location: Amherst College Powerhouse (brick building on the corner of East Drive and Barret Hill Drive) 

January Training Weekend

Location: Amherst Middle School Library

  • Friday,  January 9th, 5pm-9pm
  • Saturday, January 10th, 9 am - 5pm
  • Sunday, January 11th 9 am - 12 noon

All of the Equity Project trainings are facilitated by educator and activist Calvin Terrell. Read more about his work here, and watch a video of Calvin on Voices from Our Schools here.

2014-15 Amherst College Equity Leaders

Athri Ranganathan 16 aranganathan16@amherst.edu
Ayoung Kim 17 aykim17@amherst.edu
Brittanie Lewis 17 blewis17@amherst.edu
Danielle Fregia 17 dfregia17@amherst.edu
Manuel Morales 16 mmorales16@amherst.edu
Rachael Abernethy 16 rabernethy16@amherst.edu
Rashaa Fletcher 15 rfletcher15@amherst.edu
Siraj Sindhu 17 ssindhu17@amherst.edu
Taylor Penzel 15 tpenzel15@amherst.edu
Thomas Raskin 17 traskin17@amherst.edu

More Information

To learn more about the Equity Project or get involved, contact Multicultural Resource Center director Mariana Cruz at mcruz@amherst.edu or Karen Miller, associate directpr of the Center for Community Engagement and director of leadership programs at kmlmiller@amherst.edu.