Senior Administration

Michael A. Elliott, President of the College.  A.B. (1992) Amherst College; M.A. (1993), M.Phil (1995), Ph.D. (1998) Columbia University. 

Angie Tissi-Gassoway, Chief Student Affairs Officer and Dean of Students.  B.S. (2008) and MPH (2010) Oregon State University; M.Ed. (2015) University of Massachusetts, Amherst. 

Ralph Johnson, Executive Director of Campus Operations.  B.S.E.E. (1992) Howard University.

Betsy Cannon Smith, Chief Advancement Officer.  A.B. (1984) Amherst College.

Mike Thomas, Chief Financial and Administrative Officer.  B.S. (1992) Union College; M.S. (1995) University at Albany, SUNY.

Catherine Epstein, Provost and Dean of the Faculty, Henry Steele Commager Professor of History.  A.B. (1985) Brown University; M.Sc. (1987) London School of Economics; Ph.D. (1998) Harvard University; A.M. (hon. 2012) Amherst College.

Sandy Genelius, Chief Communications Officer.  B.A. (2009) New York University.

David L. Hamilton, Chief Information Officer.  B.A. (1991) College of Wooster.

Matthew L. McGann, Dean of Admission and Financial Aid.  B.S. (2001) Massachusetts Institute of Technology; M.Ed. (2012) Northeastern University; Ed.D. (2017) Northeastern University.

Kathleen Pertzborn, Interim Chief of Staff.  B.A. and M.A., University of Wisconsin.

Lisa Rutherford, Chief Policy Officer and General Counsel.  B.A. (1989) Hamline University; J.D. (1993) University of Wisconsin Law School at Madison.

Kate SalopChief Strategy Officer.  B.A. (1994) Wellesley College; M.A. ABD (2000) Boston University.

Sheree M. Ohen, Chief Equity and Inclusion Officer.  B.A. (2000) University of California, Berkeley; J.D. (2006) Golden Gate University, School of Law. 


For a complete list of Amherst College staff, please go to, and for Five Colleges Incorporated staff, go to 

Workflow State
Publicly Viewable

Admission & Financial Aid

Admission & Financial Aid