Copeland Colloquium 2010-2011

International Development: Successes, Failures, and Future Directions

UPCOMING EVENTS

Meet the 2010-2011 Fellows

Altschuler

Daniel Altschuler is a doctoral candidate in politics at the University of Oxford, where he was a Rhodes Scholar.

Badgley

Christiane Badgley has been producing and editing social issue documentary films for the past twenty years, with much of her work focused on the U.S. criminal justice system and post-colonial African politics and history.

KhanShahrukh Rafi Khan formerly served as executive director of the Sustainable Development Policy Institute, Islamabad, and has taught at the University of Utah, Vassar College, and Mount Holyoke College.King

Roger King will be researching and writing a sixth novel exploring the disparate lives of people caught up in “international development” and globalization, and working on a film adaptation of an earlier novel.

Talk on Global Governance

Five College Learning in Retirement
Northampton Senior Center, 67 Conz St., Northampton
May 13 2011, 9:30 am

Copeland Fellow Roger King will give a talk on Global Governance, as part of the Great Decision Series sponsored by the Foreign Policy Association. Open to the public.

video  Video and audio of recent events (  See here )

Watch this page for an upcoming career session with Daniel Altschuler and Shahrukh Rafi Khan. Students are welcome to contact the Copeland fellows with questions regarding their work or career paths.

ARTICLES

What happens when a country is run/overrun by NGOs?  Check out, “Save Haiti from aid tourists,” www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/2010/nov/16/haiti-aid-ngo. In this provocative article from The Guardian, Rory Carroll asks, “How can Haitians make policy when foreign-run fiefdoms suck up funds for pet projects? How can local farmers harvest crops when free food floods markets?”

Read Daniel Altschuler's dispatches on Huffington Post: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/daniel-altschuler The Nation: http://www.thenation.com/article/156809/immigrant-activists-regroup  and CNN: http://edition.cnn.com/2010/OPINION/11/01/altschuler.gop.dream.act/index.html

Read up on the aid debate:

Transparency will make aid work better http://www.guardian.co.uk/global-development/poverty-matters/2010/dec/21/aid-transparency-global-standard

This article in The Guardian describes the anticipated benefits of the International Aid Transparency Initiative. "Transparency does not, by itself, make aid more accountable or services better. But it is a necessary condition for every part of the internationally agreed agenda for aid effectiveness."

Foreign Aid for Scoundrels by William Easterly http://www.nybooks.com/articles/archives/2010/nov/25/foreign-aid-scoundrels/?pagination=false

William Easterly is Professor of Economics at New York University and Co-Director of NYU’s Development Research Institute. His latest book is The White Man’s Burden: Why the West’s Efforts to Aid the Rest Have Done So Much Ill and So Little Good.  In this article published in The New York Review of Books, Easterly writes about the "dirty secret" of the international aid system: "Despite much rhetoric to the contrary, the nations and organizations that donate and distribute aid do not care much about democracy and they still actively support dictators. The conventional narrative is that donors supported dictators only during the cold war and ever since have promoted democracy. This is wrong."

Dead Aid is Dead Wrong: www.one.org/c/us/hottopic/910

The Big Lie of Foreign Aid and International Charity, Interview with Michael Maren: www.netnomad.com/might.html

“Venture Philanthropy” An idea whose time has come?  Read Nicholas Kristof's article in The New York Times on the “D.I.Y. foreign aid revolution”: www.nytimes.com/2010/10/24/magazine/24volunteerism-t.html?hpw

ON THE WEB...SOURCES OF NEWS AND INFORMATION ON DEVELOPMENT-RELATED ISSUES

All Africa: allafrica.com/sustainable
Bank Information Center: www.bicusa.org/en
Center for Global Development: www.cgdev.org
Global Integrity: www.globalintegrity.org
The Guardian’s global development page: www.guardian.co.uk/global-development
Humanitarian News and Analysis: www.irinnews.org
Institute of Development Studies: www.ids.ac.uk
Inter Press Service: www.ips.org/institutional
Overseas Development Institute: www.odi.org.uk
Panos Network: www.panos.org.uk
Task Force on Financial Integrity and Economic Development: www.financialtaskforce.org
View Change: www.viewchange.org

BLOG ROLL...CHECK OUT THESE BLOGS AND FIND MANY, MANY MORE

Africa is a Country: africasacountry.com
Aid on the Edge of Chaos: aidontheedge.info
Aid Watch: aidwatchers.com
Chris Blattman’s blog: chrisblattman.com
Development Drums: developmentdrums.org
From Poverty to Power: www.oxfamblogs.org/fp2p
Global Voices: globalvoicesonline.org
Governance Matters (World Bank): blogs.worldbank.org/governance
My heart’s in Accra: www.ethanzuckerman.com/blog
Scribbles from the Den: www.dibussi.com
Space for Transparency: blog.transparency.org
Timbuktu Chronicles: timbuktuchronicles.blogspot.com
White African: whiteafrican.com
Women News Network: womennewsnetwork.net

GET INVOLVED!...SOME IDEAS FOR CITIZEN ENGAGEMENT

LinkTV (www.linktv.org) has easy-to-access issues pages with information on issue-related campaigns, links and tools for citizen engagement.  Check out the Extractive Industries and the Debt pages:

World Development Movement has a “Take Action” page: www.wdm.org.uk/take-action