faculty procession at Commencement

The dean of the faculty is the chief academic officer of the college and has primary responsibility for matters of academic policy and for the academic budget. The dean serves as secretary to the Committee of Six, the executive committee of the faculty, and as secretary to the faculty. She oversees the Robert Frost Library, the Mead Art Museum, the Beneski Museum of Natural History, the Emily Dickinson Museum, the Office of the Registrar, the Center for Community Engagement, the Center for Humanistic Inquiry, the Amherst Center for Russian Culture, the college’s international programs (including study abroad), the Office of Institutional Research, the Office of Fellowships, the Grants Office, and the Loeb Center for Career Exploration and Planning. The dean of the faculty has joint responsibility for the Department of Physical Education and Athletics. She serves as the college’s Five College Deputy.


Catherine Epstein, Dean of the Faculty Catherine Epstein became Amherst’s dean of the faculty in July 2014. A professor of history at the college since 2000, she is a scholar of German history and the author of four books, including Model Nazi: Arthur Greiser and the Nazi Occupation of Western Poland (Oxford, 2010) and a textbook, Nazi Germany: Confronting the Myths (Wiley-Blackwell, 2015). Dean Epstein has taught a wide range of European history classes, including courses on the Holocaust, Nazi Germany, and World War II.

See our staff and office page for further information.