Art and the History of Art

Department Calendar

Please keep in mind that dates can change! And events are added/edited frequently. So check this calendar often for Department events.

To see what's happening at the Mead - https://www.amherst.edu/museums/mead/events

2013 - 2014

Tue, Sep 3, 2013

10:00 am on Sep 3, to 12:00 pm on Sep 13 : (Tuesday-Friday) Selected student Work from the Previous Year's Classes: Eli Marsh Gallery, 105 Fayerweather. Closes at noon on Friday, 09/13.

4:30 pm : (Tuesday) First Department Meeting, 4:30 p.m. 217 Fayerweather. All Faculty.

Fri, Sep 6, 2013

10:00 am : (Friday) Room 006 Fayerweather: Studio Concentration thesis projects; meet with Richard Scorpio to establish assignment of individual thesis studio spaces.

Fri, Sep 13, 2013

Tue, Sep 17, 2013

Tue, Sep 24, 2013

4:30 pm : Department Meeting. 217 Fayerweather

Thu, Oct 10, 2013

Sat, Oct 12, 2013

5:00 pm on Oct 12, to 6:00 am on Oct 16 : Mid-Semester Break. Classes resume Wednesday, October 16.

Fri, Oct 18, 2013

until Oct 20 : (Friday - Sunday) Homecoming

9:00 am : (Friday) Mid-Semester Studio Thesis Critique. All studio thesis honors students. Thesis Studio, 006 Fayerweather, unless otherwise advised.

5:30 pm : (Friday - MEAD EVENT) Annual celebration for the Friends of the Mead Art Museum.

Tue, Oct 22, 2013

Tue, Oct 29, 2013

Fri, Nov 1, 2013

until Nov 3 : (Friday - Sunday) Family Weekend

Thu, Nov 7, 2013

Tue, Nov 12, 2013

4:30 pm : (Tuesday) David Roxburgh, Lecture 4:30 p.m. Pruyne Lecture Hall. Details TBA

Sat, Nov 23, 2013

until Dec 1 : (Saturday - Sunday) Thanksgiving Recess

Fri, Dec 6, 2013

9:00 am : (Friday) End of Semester Thesis Project Review. 006 Fayerweather unless otherwise advised. All Studio Honors Students.

Mon, Dec 9, 2013

10:00 am on Dec 9, to 4:00 pm on Dec 20 : (Monday - Friday) "Monumental Ideas in Miniature Books 2: A Traveling Exhibit" - Exhibition, Eli Marsh Gallery, 105 Fayerweather.

Wed, Dec 11, 2013

December 11, 2013 : (Wednesday) Last day of classes for the semester

Mon, Dec 16, 2013

until Dec 20 : (Monday - Friday) Exam Period

Thu, Jan 2, 2014

9:00 am : (Thursday) Fall Grades due

Mon, Jan 6, 2014

until Jan 22 : (Monday - Wednesday) January Term

Thu, Jan 23, 2014

January 23, 2014 : (Thursday) 2nd Semester Classes Begin

Thu, Jan 30, 2014

10:00 am on Jan 30, to 4:00 pm on Feb 21 : (Thursday - Friday) Carol Keller, New Work: Collage - Exhibition: Eli Marsh Gallery, 105 Fayerweather; Hours M-F 10 a.m. - 4 p.m. Gallery Talk 02/06, 4:30 p.m. Reception follows at the Gallery.

Thu, Feb 6, 2014

Wed, Feb 12, 2014

until Feb 15 : (Wednesday - Saturday) College Art Association Annual Conference, Chicago. Students should be aware that some Art Department faculty will be attending and will be unavailable for meetings and appointments.

Thu, Feb 13, 2014

9:00 am : (Thursday) Draft of Written Component: Studio Honors Theses- e-mail to lmbeckett@amherst.edu by 9 a.m.

Mon, Feb 17, 2014

9:00 am : (Monday) Art History: Historical and cultural Studies concentration comprehensive exam essays due, 9 a.m., Department Office.

Wed, Feb 19, 2014

4:30 pm : (Wednesday) Art History: Historical and Cultural Studies concentration comprehensive exam conversations, 4:30 p.m. Details TBA.

Fri, Feb 21, 2014

9:00 am : (Friday) Studio Thesis Critiques, beginning at 9 a.m. Details TBA.

Tue, Feb 25, 2014

4:30 pm : (Tuesday) TENTATIVE - Rapaport Lecture, 4:30 p.m. Pruyne Lecture Hall, reception follows in the hall.

Tue, Mar 4, 2014

Thu, Mar 6, 2014

4:30 pm : (Thursday) Art History: The 'Art' of the History of Art concentration comprehensive exam presentations. Details TBA.

6:00 pm : (Thursday) Oral Comprehensive Exam, SENIORS in the Studio Art Concentration. 6-10 p.m. Room 315 Fayerweather.

Fri, Mar 7, 2014

4:00 pm : (Friday) Honors Students: Three completed drafts of thesis (Art History projects) or statement (Studio Art projects) due. To your chief and adjunct advisors by 4 p.m.

Tue, Mar 11, 2014

4:30 pm : (Tuesday) Oral Comprehensive Exam, JUNIORS in the Studio Art Concentration. Room 315 Fayerweather.

Sat, Mar 15, 2014

until Mar 23 : (Saturday-Sunday) Spring Recess

Mon, Apr 7, 2014

until Apr 11 : (Monday-Friday) Pre-registration for fall semester

Fri, Apr 11, 2014

4:00 pm : (Friday) Honors Students: Three copies of completed thesis (history projects) or completed statement (studio projects) due. To chief and adjunct advisors by 4 p.m.

Fri, Apr 18, 2014

Mon, Apr 21, 2014

until Apr 25 : (Monday - Friday) Studio Thesis presentations: concluding discussions. arranged individually, candidate and advisors present.

Wed, Apr 23, 2014

Nicole Cohen

1992 Hampshire College graduate Nicole Cohen will lecture on her work. Ms. Cohen comes to Amherst at the invitation of Artist in Residence Markus Wirthmann, in conjunction with his class, Garage Science: The Art of Ubiquitous Materials.

Thu, Apr 24, 2014

Studio Honors Opening and Reception

(Thursday)At the Eli Marsh Gallery, 105 Fayerweather.

Fri, Apr 25, 2014

4:00 pm : (Friday) Studio Art concentration thesis proposals for 2014-15 due. One copy unstapled - Department Office, 107 Fayerweather Hall by 12 noon.

Mon, Apr 28, 2014

4:30 pm : (Monday) Walk-through 4:30 p.m.; Studio Honors Projects. Eli Marsh Gallery. All Fine Arts Faculty and Museum Director or designee. *Names of Prize Winners due in Registrar's Office by Wednesday, April 30, 9 a.m.

Tue, Apr 29, 2014

4:30 pm : (Tuesday) Department Meeting, following Walk-through, 217 Fayerweather. Heap, Hasse and Skouras Prize winners; Thesis levels of honors; other business TBA.

Tue, May 6, 2014

4:00 pm : (Tuesday) ALL honors students: Final bound copies of thesis due. One copy to the department coordinator; one copy to the registrar. By 4 p.m. Studio Projects must contain slides/CD of work and printed thumbnails of images along with statement.

Wed, May 7, 2014

May 7, 2014 : (Wednesday) Last day of spring semester classes

Mon, May 12, 2014

until May 16 : (Monday-Friday) Second semester examination period

Mon, May 19, 2014

9:00 am : (Monday) Senior Grades due

Wed, May 21, 2014

9:00 am : (Wednesday) Non-Senior Grades due

Sun, May 25, 2014

May 25, 2014 : (Sunday) Commencement

Tue, Jun 17, 2014

Dave Gloman; Recent Paintings

Bowery Invitational, June 17 - July 5, 2014 - Opening Reception Thursday, June 19, 6-8 p.m.