Relevant courses taken this semester under the FGO option that receive a Pass, will count toward the ARHA major requirements.  Please note that this policy applies only to the spring semester of the 19-20 academic year. 

Upcoming Meetings

Faculty Meetings
Tuesday, September 3, 2019, 4:30pm - Fayerweather 217

Tuesday, September 10, 2019, 4:30pm - Fayerweather 217

Tuesday, October 22, 2019, 4:30pm - Fayerweather 217

Tuesday, December 3, 2019, 4:30pm - Fayerweather 217

Tuesday, January 28, 2020, 4:30pm - Fayerweather 113

Wednesday, March 11, 2020, 4:30pm - Fayerweather 113

Thursday, April 16, 2020, 3pm - Studio Faculty (to determine honors level recommendation)

Thursday, April 23, 2020 - Studio Faculty (to determine 2020-21 Duty and Studio Classroom Assignments)

Tuesday, May 5, 2020, 4:30pm - Fayerweather 217


Academic Calendar - Important Dates & Deadlines

First Day of Classes, First Day of Add/Drop -

Monday, January 27, 2020

Studio Majors Comprehensive Projects installed in Hall Gallery -

Monday, February 24, 2020, 4:30pm (Studio Honors Thesis Students exempted)

Mid-Semester Studio Honors Thesis Critique -

Thursday, February 27, 2020, 4:45pm Basement Studio

Mid-Term Grades due to Registrar -

March 11, 2020

Art History Comprehensive Exams -

Tuesday, March 10, 2020, 4:30pm, Fayerweather 113

Draft of History of Art Theses -

Friday, March 20, 2020

Spring Break -

Saturday, March 14 - Sunday, March 22

Advising Week -

Monday, April 6 - Friday, April 17

Due Date for written Studio Honors Theses Drafts to committee for comments and review-

Thursday, April 9, 2020 

Written Thesis Proposal Due Date for 2020-2021 (Art History & Studio) -

Monday, April 13, 2020 - 4:30pm in Departmental Office

If you are considering writing an honors thesis you must submit a two to three-page, double-spaced proposal to the ADC (finearts@amherst.edu) by April 6.  Your proposal should outline the topic you want to investigate and some of the questions you intend to explore. You should also attach a short (no more than one page) bibliography.

We recommend that you consult with your advisor in advance of submitting the proposal.

Pre-Registration for Fall 2020 -

Monday, April 20 - Friday, April 24

Submit Written Studio Thesis and a PDF of Thesis Portfolio to the Department -

Thursday, April 23, 2020

Studio Thesis Conversations (to be coordinated with thesis advisor) -

Monday, April 27 - 29, 2020

Submissions for Prizes

Thursday, April 30, 2020 - 4:30pm

Submissions for annual prizes will be submitted as PDFs to a shared Google drive and reviewed online by the ARHA Faculty and the Museum. For Prize information, see the following webpage:   https://www.amherst.edu/mm/159950

Last Day of Classes -

Friday, May 1, 2020

Make-Up Days -

Monday, May 4 - Wednesday, May 6

Final Draft of History of Art Theses due to readers-

Monday, May 4, 2020

Second Round of Registration -

Monday, May 4 - Friday, May 8

Senior Assembly -

Wednesday, May 6, 2020

Senior Thesis due to Registrar and Online -

Tuesday, May 15, 2020

Senior Honors, Thesis Grades, and Prize nominations due to Registrar  -

Tuesday, May 15, 2020

Final Exam Period -

Monday, May 11 - Friday, May 15

Senior Grades Due at 5pm-

Monday, May 18, 2020

Non-Senior Grades Due -

Wednesday, May 20, 2020

Commencement -

TBD

 

The Registrar maintains a Detailed Academic Calendar of important dates and deadlines, including comprehensive exam dates, deadlines for new course proposals and more.


Careers in Arts & Communications

The Careers in Arts & Communication program, overseen by the Loeb Center for Career Exploration and Planning, provides exposure to a variety of professional development opportunities and career advising to help students launch successful careers.


Amherst College Digital Collections

Amherst College Digital Collections (ACDC) holds over one hundred thousand digitized art works, photographs, manuscripts, books and other media from the College’s Archives & Special Collections and Art & Architecture Collection.


Art Museums Nearby

Five College Museums:
New England & New York Museums: