Upcoming Meetings

Faculty Meetings

Tuesday, February 23, 5:30 pm

Tuesday, March 23, 5:30 pm

Thursday, March 25, 5:30 pm (Studio)

Tuesday, April 13, 5:30 pm (Studio)


Academic Calendar - Important Dates & Deadlines

Fall 2021 Deadlines 

22E Studio Art Thesis Proposals
due on October 18th
Mid-Semester Critiques
Studio Thesis Students
Thursday: October 21st 
Time:  5:00 p.m.-7:30 p.m.
End of the Semester Critiques
Studio Thesis Students
December 9th, Thursday
Time: 10:00-12:30

Thesis Deadline January 2021:
Monday, February 1


New Course Proposals for 2021-22 due to the CEP:
Wednesday, February 3


Grades Due:
Thursday, February 4


Deadline to Declare FGO for the January Term:
Tuesday, February 9


First Day of Spring Classes, First Day of Add/Drop; First Day of Five Colleges Interchange Registration:
Monday, February 15


Last Day of Add/Drop; Last Day of Five Colleges Interchange Registration; Pass/Fail and FGO Forms Due:
Tuesday, February 23


Application to Participate in Commencement due for Class of 2022E:
Friday, February 26


Deadline to Record Written and Spoken Name in NameCoach:
Monday, March 1
NameCoach


Thesis Advisor Name changes/corrections Due From Academic Department to Registrar's Office:
Wednesday, March 3


Mid-Semester Studio Honors Thesis Critique:
Thursday, March 4, 5:30 p.m.


2021-22 Course Information due to Registrar:
Friday, March 5


Midterm Grades due to Registrar:
Friday, March 19


No Classes Held:
Friday, March 19


Art History Comprehensive Exams:
Thursday, March 25. Seniors prepare a presentation of no more than ten minutes on how they would revise and expand a research paper in one of our classes based on how they have come to understand the history or art based on their experiences in their ARHA classes.


Last Day to Withdraw From the College:
Friday, March 26


Studio Art (non-thesis) Comprehensive Exams:
Wednesday, April 7, 5 p.m.


Complete Draft History of Art Thesis Due to Advisor:
Monday, April 12


Last Day to Withdraw from a Course as a First, Second, or Third Year Student:
Wednesday, April 14


No Classes Held:
Monday, April 19 - Tuesday, April 20


Final Draft Studio Thesis due to Advisor:
Friday, April 23


Final Draft of History of Art Thesis to all Committee Members:
Monday, April 26


Advising Period:
Monday, April 26 - Friday, April 30


Prize Submissions Due:
Thursday, April 29  

If you are considering making a submission, please see the Prizes webpage for more information on individual prizes:

Department of Art and the History of Art Prizes


Written Thesis Proposal Due Date:
Thursday, April 29 (History of Art) & Friday, April 30, 3 p.m. (Studio Art) 

If you are considering writing an honors thesis you must submit a two to three-page, double-spaced proposal to the ADC (finearts@amherst.edu) by the above due date.  Your proposal should outline the topic you want to investigate and some of the questions you intend to explore. You should also attach a short (no more than one page) bibliography.

We recommend that you consult with your advisor in advance of submitting the proposal.


First Round Pre-Registration for Fall 2021:
Monday, May 3 - Friday, May 7


Conversation about History of Art Thesis with Advisor:
Monday, May 3 - Friday, May 7


Complete Draft of Studio Thesis:
Friday, May 7


Conversation about Studio Thesis


Roster Management Week:
Monday, May 10 - Friday, May 14


Class Prize Winner Names to the Registrar:
Wednesday, May 12


Seniors are Asked to Submit their Graduation Information to NameCoach:
Friday, May 14
NameCoach


Second Round Pre-Registration for Fall 2021:
Monday, May 17 - Friday, May 21


Major Declaration due for Class of 2023 to avoid Fall holds:
Tuesday, May 18


Undergraduate Awards Ceremony:
Tuesday, May 18


Last Day of classes:
Wednesday, May 19


Senior Theses and Thesis Grades Due for Class of 2021 by 5 p.m. EST. Summa Recommendations due online to Registrar:
Wednesday, May 19


Senior Assembly Awards Ceremony:
Wednesday, May 28


Reading Period:
Thursday, May 20 - Sunday, May 23


Examination Period:
Monday, May 24 - Friday, May 28


Commencement:
Sunday, May 30, 10 a.m.


Grades Due for Graduating Seniors
Monday, May 31 at 9 a.m.


Grades Due for First, Second, and Third Year Students:
Wednesday, June 2


Non-Seniors Choose Final or Pass Grade:
Monday, June 14

The Registrar maintains a Detailed Academic Calendar of important dates and deadlines, including comprehensive exam dates, deadlines for new course proposals and more.


Careers in Arts & Communications

The Careers in Arts & Communication program, overseen by the Loeb Center for Career Exploration and Planning, provides exposure to a variety of professional development opportunities and career advising to help students launch successful careers.


Amherst College Digital Collections

Amherst College Digital Collections (ACDC) holds over one hundred thousand digitized art works, photographs, manuscripts, books and other media from the College’s Archives & Special Collections and Art & Architecture Collection.


Art Museums Nearby

Five College Museums:

New England & New York Museums: