Upcoming Meetings

Department Meetings

Department meetings are tentatively schedule weekly throughout the semester. If a meeting is not needed it will be cancelled.


Academic Calendar - Important Dates & Deadlines

Fall 2023/Spring 2024 Deadlines 

Thesis Writers Meeting
Thursday, October 5th 
Time: 5:00pm
Location: TBD

Fall Applications Due for Alpha Delta Phi Funding
Thesis Students
Friday, October 13th 

Mid-Semester Critiques
History of Art AND Studio Thesis Students
Thursday: October 19th 
Time:  5:00 p.m.-7:00 p.m.
Location: TBD

End of the Semester Critiques
History of Art Thesis Students
Wednesday, November 29th
Time: 6:00pm

End of the Semester Critiques
Studio Thesis Students
Thursday, November 30th
Time: TBD

Pre-Registration for Spring 2024 (Week 1)
Monday, October 30th - Friday, November 3rd

Roster Management
Monday, November 6th - Thursday, November 9th

Pre-Registration for Spring 2024 (Week 2)
Monday, November 13th - Friday, November 17th

Last Day of Classes
Wednesday, December 13th

Reading Period
Thursday, December 14th - Friday, December 15th

Exam Period
Saturday, December 16th - Thursday, December 21st

Fall Grades Due:
Wednesday, January 2nd


New Course Proposals for 2021-22 due to the CEP:
Wednesday, February 3


First Day of Spring Classes, First Day of Add/Drop; First Day of Five Colleges Interchange Registration:
Monday, January 29th


Last Day of Add/Drop; Last Day of Five Colleges Interchange Registration; Pass/Fail and FGO Forms Due:
Wednesday, February 7th


Spring Applications for Alpha Delta Phi Funding Due
Friday, February 23rd


Comps for History of Art and Studio Art
Friday, February 23rd


Mid-Semester Studio Honors Thesis Critique:
Tuesday, March 7, 5:00 p.m.


Midterm Grades due to Registrar:
Friday, March 10


Art History Comprehensive Exams:
Thursday, March 30. Seniors prepare a presentation of no more than ten minutes on how they would revise and expand a research paper in one of our classes based on how they have come to understand the history or art based on their experiences in their ARHA classes.


Studio Art (non-thesis) Comprehensive Exams:
Wednesday, April 7, 5 p.m.


Complete Draft History of Art Thesis Due to Advisor:
Monday, April 12


Last Day to Withdraw from a Course as a First, Second, or Third Year Student:
Wednesday, April 14


Final Draft Studio Thesis due to Advisor:
Friday, April 23


Final Draft of History of Art Thesis to all Committee Members:
Monday, April 26


Advising Period:
Monday, April 3 - Friday, April 7


April Break:
Monday, April 17 - Tuesday, April 18


Prize Submissions Due:
Friday, April 21 by 12:00pm  

If you are considering making a submission, please see the Prizes webpage for more information on individual prizes:

Department of Art and the History of Art Prizes


Written Thesis Proposal Due Date:
Wednesday, April 19, 3 p.m. 

If you are considering writing an honors thesis you must submit a two to three-page, double-spaced proposal to the ADC (finearts@amherst.edu) by the above due date.  Your proposal should outline the topic you want to investigate and some of the questions you intend to explore. You should also attach a short (no more than one page) bibliography.

We recommend that you consult with your advisor in advance of submitting the proposal.


First Round Pre-Registration for Fall 2023:
Monday, April 10 - Friday, April 14


Conversation about History of Art Thesis with Advisor:
Monday, May 3 - Friday, May 7


Complete Draft of Studio Thesis:
Friday, May 7


Conversation about Studio Thesis


Roster Management Week:
Monday, April 17 - Friday, April 21


Second Round Pre-Registration for Fall 2021:
Monday, April 24 - Friday, April 28


Major Declaration due for Class of 2023 to avoid Fall holds:
Tuesday, May 18


Undergraduate Awards Ceremony:
Tuesday, May 18


Last Day of classes:
Wednesday, May 9


Senior Theses and Thesis Grades Due for Class of 2023 by 5 p.m. EST. Summa Recommendations due online to Registrar:
Thursday, May 19


Senior Assembly Awards Ceremony:
Wednesday, May 10


Reading Period:
Wednesday, May 10 - Sunday, May 14


Examination Period:
Monday, May 15 - Friday, May 19


Grades Due for Graduating Seniors
Monday, May 22 at 9 a.m.


Grades Due for First, Second, and Third Year Students:
Wednesday, May 24


Commencement:
Sunday, May 28, 10 a.m.


Careers in Arts & Communications

The Careers in Arts & Communication program, overseen by the Loeb Center for Career Exploration and Planning, provides exposure to a variety of professional development opportunities and career advising to help students launch successful careers.


Amherst College Digital Collections

Amherst College Digital Collections (ACDC) holds over one hundred thousand digitized art works, photographs, manuscripts, books and other media from the College‚Äôs Archives & Special Collections and Art & Architecture Collection.


Art Museums Nearby

Five College Museums:

New England & New York Museums: