Upcoming Meetings

Faculty Meetings
Tuesday, September 3, 2019, 4:30pm - Fayerweather 217

Tuesday, September 10, 2019, 4:30pm - Fayerweather 217

Tuesday, October 22, 2019, 4:30pm - Fayerweather 217

Tuesday, January 28, 2020, 4:30pm - Fayerweather 217

Thursday, April 16, 2020, 3pm - Studio Faculty (to determine honors level recommendation)

Thursday, April 23, 2020 - Studio Faculty (to determine 2020-21 Duty and Studio Classroom Assignments)

Tuesday, May 5, 2020, 4:30pm - Fayerweather 217


Academic Calendar - Important Dates & Deadlines

Orientation for New Students -

Begins Tuesday, August 27, 2019  (for more info see:  https://www.amherst.edu/offices/student-affairs/new/orientation-at-a-glance)

First Day of Classes, First Day of Add/Drop -

Tuesday, September 3, 2019

Majors Meeting  & Picnic -

Thursday, September 5, 2019, 4:30pm

Join us for the opening meeting of the academic year, including introductions, information about department resources, etc. at 4:30 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 5 in Pruyne Lecture Hall, Fayerweather 115. Majors are expected to attend; any student interested in the art major is cordially invited to attend. Majors' barbecue follows behind the building in the Sculpture Park!

Mid-Semester Break -

Saturday, Octorber 12 - Tuesday, October 16

Fall Classes Resume -

Wednesday, October 16, 2019 - Monday Class Schedule Followed

Mid-Semester Studio Thesis Critique -

Thursday, October 17, 2019, 4:30pm Basement Studio

Mid-Term Grades due to Registrar -

October 23, 2019

Advising Week -

Monday, October 28 - Friday, November 1

Pre-Registration for Spring 2020 -

Monday, November 4 - Friday, November 8

Second Round Registration Week -

Monday, November 18 - Friday, November 22

Thanksgiving Break

Saturday, November 23 - Sunday, December 1

Theses Presentations (Art History & Studio)-

Thursday, December 5, 2019, (Studio Theses presentations are at 4:30pm in the Basement Studio)

Last Day of Classes -

Wednesday, December 11, 2019

Final Exam Week -

Monday, December 16 - Friday, December 20

Grades Due -

Thursday, January 2, 2020

Interterm -

Sunday, January 5 - Sunday, January 26

First Day of Classes, First Day of Add/Drop -

Monday, January 27, 2020

Studio Majors Comprehensive Projects installed in Hall Gallery -

Monday, February 24, 2020, 4:30pm (Studio Honors Thesis Students exempted)

Mid-Term Grades due to Registrar -

March 11, 2020

Art History Comprehensive Exams -

Thursday, March 12, 2020

Mid-Semester Studio Honors Thesis Critique -

Thursday, March 12, 2020, 4:30pm Basement Studio

Spring Break -

Saturday, March 14 - Sunday, March 22

Advising Week -

Monday, March 30 - Friday, April 3

Written Thesis Proposal Due Date for 2020-2021 (Art History & Studio) -

Monday, April 6, 2020 - 4:30pm in Departmental Office

If you are considering writing an honors thesis you must submit a two to three-page, double-spaced proposal to the ADC (finearts@amherst.edu) by April 6.  Your proposal should outline the topic you want to investigate and some of the questions you intend to explore. You should also attach a short (no more than one page) bibliography.

We recommend that you consult with your advisor in advance of submitting the proposal.

Pre-Registration for Fall 2020 -

Monday, April 6 - Friday, April 10

Due Date for written Studio Honors Theses Statements -

Thursday, April 9, 2020 - in Departmental Office

Studio Honors Theses installed in Eli Marsh Gallery -

Thursday, April 9, 2020 - 4:30pm

Submissions for Prizes

Thursday, April 9, 2020 - 4:30pm in Departmental Office

Submissions for annual prizes can be sent to the ADC (finearts@amherst.edu).  For Prize information, see the following webpage:   https://www.amherst.edu/mm/159950

Faculty and Museum Walk-through for Prize Nominations -

Tuesday, April 14, 2020 - 4:30pm in Eli Marsh Gallery

Completion of Honors Thesis Defenses -

Thursday, April 16, 2020 - 2pm

Opening and Reception for Studio Honors Thesis Exhibition -

Thursday, April 16, 2020 - 4:30pm in Eli Marsh Gallery

Second Round of Registration -

Monday, April 20 - Friday, April 24

Last Day of Classes -

Friday, May 1, 2020

Make-Up Days -

Monday, May 4 - Wednesday, May 6

Bound Thesis due -

May 5, 2020

Senior Thesis due to Registrar and Online -

May 2020

Senior Assembly -

Wednesday, May 6, 2020

Final Exam Period -

Monday, May 11 - Friday, May 15

Senior Grades Due -

Monday, May 18, 2020

Non-Senior Grades Due -

Wednesday, May 20, 2020

Commencement -

Sunday, May 24, 2020 - 10am

 

The Registrar maintains a Detailed Academic Calendar of important dates and deadlines, including comprehensive exam dates, deadlines for new course proposals and more.


Careers in Arts & Communications

The Careers in Arts & Communication program, overseen by the Loeb Center for Career Exploration and Planning, provides exposure to a variety of professional development opportunities and career advising to help students launch successful careers.


Amherst College Digital Collections

Amherst College Digital Collections (ACDC) holds over one hundred thousand digitized art works, photographs, manuscripts, books and other media from the College’s Archives & Special Collections and Art & Architecture Collection.


Art Museums Nearby

Five College Museums:
New England & New York Museums: