Fall 2018 Meetings

New Student Orientation
Wednesday, Sept. 29, 10 a.m.
Fayerweather 113
Generally three half-hour sessions to accommodate students interested in other disciplines. Professor Samuel C. Morse represents History of Art; Professor Robert T. Sweeney represents Practice of Art.

Faculty Meeting
Tuesday, Sept. 4, 4:30 p.m.
Fayerweather 217

Majors Meeting
Thursday, Sept. 6, 4:30 p.m.
Pruyne Lecture Hall, Fayerweather 115
For all faculty, declared majors and those interested in declaring the major.

Academic Calendar–Important Dates

First Day of Fall Classes
Tuesday, Sept. 4, 2018

Mid-Semester Break (Eli Marsh Gallery Closed on Saturday)
Saturday, Oct. 6–Tuesday, Oct. 9, 2018

Fall Classes Resume: Monday Schedule
Wednesday, Oct. 10, 2018

Mid-term Studio Thesis Reviews
Monday, Oct. 15, 2018, 4:30pm

Thanksgiving Break (Eli Marsh Gallery Closed)
Saturday, Nov. 17–Sunday, Nov. 25, 2018

End of Semester Studio Thesis Reviews
Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2018, 9am

Last Day of Fall Classes
Wednesday, Dec. 12, 2018

First Day of Spring Classes
Monday, Jan. 28, 2019

Spring Break (Eli Marsh Gallery Closed)
Saturday, March 9–Sunday, March 17, 2019

Last Day of Spring Classes
Friday, May 3, 2019

Amherst College Digital Collections

Many images of works used in art department classes can be accessed via Amherst College Digital Collections.

Art Museums

Since Amherst is approximately 2 hours west of Boston, 3 hours north of New York City, and 2 hours east of Albany, some of the finest museums and galleries in the country are accessible to our students and faculty.

Five College Museums:
New England & New York Museums: