Art & the History of Art Prizes

The Department of Art and the History of Art may award up to three prizes each spring:

1.  The Athanasios Demetrios Skouras Prize is given in memory of Athanasios Demetrios Skouras of the class of 1936, who died in 1943 in Athens as a result of Nazi reprisal killings. It is awarded to an AmherstCollege student who, in the opinion of the Department has created an outstanding work of art or architecture.

2.  The Hasse Prize, established in the memory of Adrian H. Hasse of the class of 1943 is awarded to an Amherst student for the best submitted work using the human figure as a theme.

All works submitted for the Skouras and Hasse Prizes, with the exception of thesis work, must be clearly labeled as such and should be brought, where feasible, to Louise Beckett in room 107 Fayerweather Hall, by Friday, April 14, no later than 12 noon. 

3.  The Anna Baker Heap Prize, established by Arnold N. Heap of the class of 1873; shall be given annually to that member of the senior class who shall write the best essay or dissertation on the subject of “Art.”  Substantial essays written specifically for this competition will be considered.  All essays should be submitted, unstapled please, to Louise Beckett in the department office, 107 Fayerweather Hall, by Friday, April 14, no later than 12 noon.

Should students have any questions about any of these prizes, please speak to any faculty member of the department of Art and the History of Art.