Each year a portion of the income from this endowed Fund will be allocated to support two annual senior awards, the "Smith Prize(s)," to recognize high-achieving students who have majored in Japanese within the Department of Asian Languages and Civilizations.

Past Winners


1st prize: Allison Lee

2nd prize: Not Awarded 


1st prize split between Emily Ratte and Mashiyat Zaman

2nd prize split between Fawzi Itani and Mei Zhou.