Chemistry

Chemistry Seminar Schedule

Seminars begin at 3:30 pm on Friday afternoons in Merrill Lecture Room 4, except as noted, and are preceeded by refreshments at 3:15. 

Discussion seminars begin at 3:30pm on Friday afternoons in Merrill Science Center Room 315.

2014 - 2015

Fri, Sep 5, 2014

Fri, Sep 12, 2014

Seminar with Professor Erika Taylor, Wesleyan University

Merrill Science Center, Lecture Room 4

Professor Erika Taylor, Professor of Chemistry and Environmental Studies. Seminar Title: "Two Stops on the Path for Converting Lignin into Biofuels." Co-Sponsored with the Biochemistry/Biophysics Program.

Fri, Sep 19, 2014

Student Thesis Talks

Merrill Science Center, Lecture Room 4

Samuel Hendel; "Investigating Electrochemical and Spectroelectrochemical Properties of BODIPY Dyad Series." Advisor: Professor Elizabeth Young

Shamira Shariffudin; "Palladium Catalyzed Synthesis of Aryl Sulfonyl Fluorides." Advisor: Professor Nicholas Ball

Kathryn Sundheim; "Validation of a Novel Hydrogen Exchange Mass Spectrometry Approach to Map Protein Folding Landscapes." Advisor: Professor Sheila Jaswal

Fri, Sep 26, 2014

Student Thesis Talks

Merrill Science Center, Lecture Room 4

Nazir D. Khan, "Structure Determination of the Complex Formed between Ethyne and (Z)-1-chloro-2-fluoroethene." Advisor: Professor Helen Leung.

Gregory Knowlton, "Optimization of Small Molecule Inhibitor Sensitization in PTP1B's WPD Loop." Advisor: Professor Anthony Bishop.

Katharine Winchell, "Synthesis and Characterization of Polymer Clay Nanocomposites." Advisor: Professor Sandra Burkett.

Fri, Oct 3, 2014

Student Thesis Talks

Merrill Science Center, Lecture Room 4

Gillian Lupinski; "Addressing the Problematic θ Coordinate in DVR." Advisor: Professor Mark Marshall.

Hyunsun Roh; "Allosteric activation of engineered Src homology-2-domain-containing tyrosine phosphatase (Shp2) with a biarsenical molecule F1ASH." Advisor: Professor Anthony Bishop.

Jimmy Yu; "Discrete Variable Representation (DVR) as an Alternative to the Linear Variational Method." Advisor: Professor Mark Marshall.

Fri, Oct 10, 2014

Student Thesis Talks

Merrill Science Center, Lecture Room 4

John F. Stockman, "Investigating the Palladium Catalyzed Synthesis of Sulfonamides." Advisor: Professor Nicholas Ball

Claire Drolen, "Ferrocenyl Derivatives as Model Systems for the Investigation of Proton-Coupled Electron Transfer." Advisor: Professor Elizabeth Young

Fri, Oct 17, 2014

Fri, Oct 24, 2014

Seminar with Dr. Leah Witus, Northwestern University

Merrill Science Center, Lecture Room 4

Seminar Title: "Optimization of protein bioconjugation reactions using combinatorial peptide libraries"

Fri, Oct 31, 2014

Fri, Nov 7, 2014

Fri, Nov 14, 2014

Fri, Nov 21, 2014

Fri, Nov 28, 2014

Fri, Dec 5, 2014

CANCELLED - Seminar with Professor Gerald Meyer, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Merrill Science Center, Lecture Room 4

Professor Gerald Meyer, Professor of Chemistry. Seminar Title: "Molecular Electron Transfers in Efficient Solar Cells."

Tue, Dec 9, 2014

Fri, Dec 12, 2014

Fri, Jan 23, 2015

Fri, Jan 30, 2015

Fri, Feb 6, 2015

Fri, Feb 13, 2015

Fri, Feb 20, 2015

Fri, Feb 27, 2015

Today - Fri, Mar 6, 2015

Tue, Mar 10, 2015

Fri, Mar 13, 2015

Fri, Mar 20, 2015

Fri, Mar 27, 2015

Fri, Apr 3, 2015

Fri, Apr 10, 2015

Fri, Apr 17, 2015

Fri, Apr 24, 2015

Fri, May 1, 2015

 

Merrill Hall