Spring 2022

Contemporary Political Theory

Listed in: Political Science, as POSC-480

Formerly listed as: POSC-43  |  POSC-80


Thomas L. Dumm (Section 01)


A consideration of twentieth- and twenty-first-century Western political theory. Topics to be considered include the fate of modernity, identity and difference, power, representation, freedom, and the state. This year’s readings may include works by the following authors: Freud, Weber, Benjamin, Heidegger, Arendt, Derrida, Foucault, Berlin, Butler, Connolly, and Agamben.

Limited to 20 students. Spring semester. Professor Dumm.

Students who enroll in this course will likely encounter and be expected to engage in the following intellectual skills, modes of learning, and assessment: Emphasis on written work, readings, independent research, oral presentations. Students with documented disabilities who will require accommodations in this course should be in consultation with Accessibility Services and reach out to the faculty member as soon as possible to ensure that accommodations can be made in a timely manner.

This is preliminary information about books for this course. Please contact your instructor or the Academic Coordinator for the department, before attempting to purchase these books.

ISBN Title Publisher Author(s) Comment Book Store Price
Basic Writings Harper Perennial Modern Thought, 2008 Martin Heidegger Amherst Books TBD
The Human Condition University of Chicago Press, 1998. Hannah Arendt Amherst Books TBD
Society Must be Defended Penguin, 2003 Michel Foucault Amherst Books TBD
Security, Territory, Population Penguin, 2009 Michel Foucault Amherst Books TBD
Specters of Marx Routledge, 2006 Jacques Derrida Amherst Books TBD
Thousand Plateaus : Capitalism and Schizophrenia Rutgers University Press Gilles Deleuze and Felix Guattari Amherst Books TBD
Anti-Oedipus : Capitalism and Schizophrenia Phyllis Fogelman Books Gilles Deleuze and Felix Guattari Amherst Books TBD

These books are available locally at Amherst Books.


Other years: Offered in Spring 2008, Spring 2009, Spring 2010, Spring 2011, Spring 2012, Spring 2013, Fall 2013, Spring 2016, Spring 2017, Spring 2018, Spring 2019, Spring 2020, Spring 2021, Spring 2022, Spring 2023, Spring 2025