2017 - 2018

Mon, Sep 4, 2017

2018 Thesis Writers Must Check-in with Their Thesis Advisors

If you are working on a thesis this year, please make sure to check in with your thesis advisor during the first weeks of school so that they can discuss your plans and progress.

Opening Convocation

The new academic year begins with the Convocation Ceremony. Everyone is welcome!

Tue, Sep 5, 2017

Fall Classes Begin/First Day of Add-Drop

Fri, Sep 8, 2017

18E's: Thesis Updates Due @ 3 p.m.

18E's who are undertaking a Thesis Project must submit an update to their advisor by 3 p.m.

Thu, Sep 14, 2017

End of Add-Drop and Interchange Registration

Tue, Sep 19, 2017

Capstone Symposium Info Sessions at 4 p.m. & 8 p.m.

All day Frost Library, CHI - 2nd floor

Seniors: Participation in the symposium is a requirement for the English major. Come learn how to prepare for the symposium by attending either the 4 p.m. or 8 p.m. meeting. This is IMPORTANT.

Mon, Sep 25, 2017

Senior Thesis Info Session for 19E's @ 4:30 p.m.

19E's interested in undertaking a Thesis Project should attend.

Tue, Sep 26, 2017

Welcome Back Party / Department Orientation

Chat with professors, meet other wonderful majors and potential majors, learn about upcoming events, ask questions, AND enjoy delicious treats! Everyone is welcome. Bring your friends.

Sat, Oct 7, 2017

Mid-semester Break

Wed, Oct 11, 2017

Fall Classes Resume, MONDAY schedule to be followed

Fri, Oct 20, 2017

Alpha Delta Phi & David P. Patchel Funding Applications Due

Support for senior projects is available from the Alpha Delta Phi Fund and the David P. Patchel Memorial Fund. The Alpha Delta Phi Fund is designed to support senior essay writing, special topics, and other comparable independent projects. Monies from the David P. Patchel Memorial Fund can be used for senior projects having to do with the moving image specifically, whether essays, theses, or production projects. Awards are intended for seniors who are working on projects that are integral to their coursework or are part of independent study for credit that is supervised and evaluated by a faculty member.

Mon, Oct 30, 2017

Fri, Nov 3, 2017

19E's: Draft of Thesis Proposals are Due to Advisors @ 3 p.m.

19E's who wish to submit a Senior Thesis for Honors consideration should provide a draft of their proposal to their advisor by 3 p.m. today.

Mon, Nov 6, 2017

Pre-registration for Spring 2018

Fri, Nov 10, 2017

Gregory S. Call Student Research Funding Application Due

Looking for some financial assistance for your research? Support is available for Amherst College students for up to $500 in the form of grants. https://www.amherst.edu/academiclife/dean_faculty/studentfunds for more information.

Concentration Statements from Seniors are Due @ 3 p.m.

Fri, Nov 17, 2017

18E's: Senior Theses Due @ Noon

18E's Senior Theses to be considered by the department for Honors must be submitted by noon today.

Sat, Nov 18, 2017

Thanksgiving Break

"Cultivate the habit of being grateful for every good thing that comes to you, and to give thanks continuously. And because all things have contributed to your advancement, you should include all things in your gratitude." –Ralph Waldo Emerson

Mon, Nov 27, 2017

Second Round Registration for Spring 2018

Classes Resume

Fri, Dec 1, 2017

Capstone Symposium Presentation by English Professors

Theme TBA.
English professors will provide examples of presentations. Seniors are required to attend.

19E's: Final Theses Proposals Due @ 3 p.m.

19E's who wish to write a thesis must upload their proposal to Formstack by 3 p.m.

Tue, Dec 12, 2017

18E Senior Theses and Honors Recommendations/Summa Letters Due to Registrar

Wed, Dec 13, 2017

Last Day of Fall Classes

Mon, Dec 18, 2017

Tue, Jan 2, 2018

Fall Grades Submitted to the Registrar

Thu, Jan 18, 2018

Thesis Updates from Seniors Must be Uploaded to Formstack by 3 p.m.

Seniors who are undertaking a Thesis Project must upload their update by 3 p.m. The department will review submissions soon after, and will be in contact regarding the project.

Mon, Jan 22, 2018

Wed, Jan 31, 2018

End of Add-Drop and Interchange Registration

Fri, Feb 9, 2018

Senior Capstone Symposium 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Majors will present independent work, drawn from one of their 400-level seminars or from their senior theses at the Senior Capstone Symposium to fulfill the English Department requirement. The ten-minute presentations will be organized into panels. Majors must attend all symposia during their junior and senior years (unless studying abroad), present once, and participate in the conversations generated by the presentations.

Wed, Feb 14, 2018

Thesis Info Session for 19's @ 4 p.m.

Thinking about writing a thesis? Come to an info session and learn more! Cookies and drinks will be available.

Thu, Feb 15, 2018

Alpha Delta Phi Fund and the David P. Patchel Funding Applications Due

Support for senior projects is available from the Alpha Delta Phi Fund and the David P. Patchel Memorial Fund. The Alpha Delta Phi Fund is designed to support senior essay writing, special topics, and other comparable independent projects. Monies from the David P. Patchel Memorial Fund can be used for senior projects having to do with the moving image specifically, whether essays, theses, or production projects. Awards are intended for seniors who are working on projects that are integral to their coursework or are part of independent study for credit that is supervised and evaluated by a faculty member.

Gregory S. Call Student Research Funding Application Due

Looking for some financial assistance for your research? Support is available for Amherst College students for up to $500 in the form of grants. https://www.amherst.edu/academiclife/dean_faculty/studentfunds for more information.

Fri, Mar 2, 2018

Sat, Mar 10, 2018

Spring Recess

"It was one of those March days when the sun shines hot and the wind blows cold: when it is summer in the light, and winter in the shade.” ― Charles Dickens, Great Expectations

Mon, Mar 26, 2018

Fri, Mar 30, 2018

Draft of Thesis Proposal from 19's Due to Advisor @ 4 p.m.

Make sure to submit a draft to your advisor NOW so that you can be prepared to submit your final proposal to the department in a few weeks (see April 18th deadline).

Mon, Apr 2, 2018

Pre-registration for Fall 2018

Gregory S. Call Research Applications Due for Summer Funding

See https://www.amherst.edu/academiclife/dean_faculty/studentfunds for more information about applying for support for on-campus research projects during the summer.

Tue, Apr 3, 2018

Thesis Defenses Take Place These Weeks

Mon, Apr 16, 2018

Second Round Registration

Wed, Apr 18, 2018

Thesis Proposals Due from 19's at 4 p.m.

If you would like to pursue a senior thesis you must upload to Formstack your proposal by 4 p.m. Thank you.

Department Holds Honors Meeting to Determine Recommendations

Thu, Apr 26, 2018

2018 Honors Recommendations/Summa Letters Due to the Registrar

Fri, Apr 27, 2018

Tue, May 1, 2018

College Meeting

5:00 pm Converse Hall, Cole Assembly Room

1st, 2nd, 3rd year student prizes are announced.

Wed, May 2, 2018

Senior Assembly

Thu, May 3, 2018

Department Picnic @ 4:30

All majors are invited! Enjoy some delicious food and great company. Come celebrate the end of the school year!

Mon, May 7, 2018

Sun, May 20, 2018

Commencement

"I can’t go back to yesterday because I was a different person then." — Alice's Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll