2016 - 2017

Mon, Sep 5, 2016

Opening Convocation

Convocation is the ceremony that starts the new academic year

Tue, Sep 6, 2016

Fall Classes Begin/ First Day of Add-Drop

Fri, Sep 9, 2016

Thesis Updates Due from 17E's @ 3 p.m.

17E's who are undertaking a Thesis Project must submit an update by 3 p.m.

Thu, Sep 15, 2016

End of Add-Drop and Interchange Registration

Tue, Sep 20, 2016

Comps Information Sessions at 4 p.m. and 8 p.m.

All day Frost Library, CHI - 2nd floor

Come learn about the new Comprehensive Exam format: The English Department Capstone Symposium. There will be two information sessions: 4 p.m. and 8 p.m. Attend whichever session works for your schedule. This is a REQUIREMENT for graduating as an English Major.

Mon, Sep 26, 2016

Senior Thesis Information Session for 18E's @ 4:30 p.m.

Tue, Sep 27, 2016

Comps Study Sessions: 4 p.m. and 8 p.m.

All day Frost Library, CHI - 2nd floor

These sessions will prepare you for the Capstone Symposium which fulfills the Comprehensive Exam requirement.

Sat, Oct 8, 2016

Mid-semester Break

Wed, Oct 12, 2016

Fall Classes Resume, MONDAY class schedule to be followed

Fri, Oct 21, 2016

Alpha Delta Phi/ David P. Patchel Funding Applications Due

Grant support for senior projects. First priority is reserved for English majors and others working in literary studies, creative writing, theater and dance, or film. Monies from the David P. Patchel Memorial Fund can be used for senior projects having to do with the moving image specifically, whether essays, theses, or production projects.

Tue, Oct 25, 2016

Comps Study Sessions: 4 p.m. and 8 p.m.

These sessions will prepare you for the Capstone Symposium which fulfills the Comprehensive Exam requirement.

Wed, Oct 26, 2016

English Department Open House

Visit with professors, meet other majors and potential majors, learn about upcoming courses, eat delicious treats!

Mon, Oct 31, 2016

Fri, Nov 4, 2016

Draft of Thesis Proposals from 18E's Due to Advisors @ 3 p.m.

18E's who wish to submit a Senior Thesis for Honors consideration should submit their draft proposals to their advisors today by 3 p.m.

Mon, Nov 7, 2016

Pre-registration for Spring 2017

Tue, Nov 8, 2016

Comps Study Sessions: 4 p.m. and 8 p.m.

These sessions will prepare you for the Capstone Symposium which fulfills the Comprehensive Exam requirement.

Thu, Nov 10, 2016

Gregory S. Call Student Research Funding Applications Due

Support for student term-time research is available for Amherst College students for up to $500 in the form of grants. See https://www.amherst.edu/academiclife/dean_faculty/studentfunds for more information

Fri, Nov 11, 2016

Concentration Statements from Seniors Due @ 3 p.m.

Seniors must submit Concentration Statements or they will be ineligible to take the Comprehensive Exam.

Fri, Nov 18, 2016

17E's Senior Theses Due @ Noon

17E's Senior Theses to be considered by the department for Honors are due today @ noon.

Sat, Nov 19, 2016

Thanksgiving Break

Mon, Nov 28, 2016

Classes Resume

Second Round Registration for Spring 2017

Tue, Nov 29, 2016

Comps Study Sessions: 4 p.m. and 8 p.m.

Final preparation for presentations on Friday or on February 10th.

Fri, Dec 2, 2016

English Department Capstone Symposium 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

All day Frost Library, CHI and Barker Room

Majors will present independent work, drawn from one of their 400-level seminars or from their senior theses at the English Department Capstone Symposium to fulfill the Comprehensive Exam requirement. The ten-minute presentations will be organized into panels. Majors must attend all symposia during their junior and senior years (unless studying abroad), present once, and participate in the conversations generated by the presentations.

Final Thesis Proposals from 18E's due @ 3 p.m.

Tue, Dec 13, 2016

17E Senior Theses and Honors Recommendations/Summa Letters Due to Registrar

Wed, Dec 14, 2016

Last Day of Fall Classes

19E's Deadline to Declare their Major

Sun, Dec 18, 2016

Tue, Jan 3, 2017

Fall Grades Submitted to Registrar

Mon, Jan 16, 2017

Martin Luther King, Jr Day - College Closed

Thu, Jan 19, 2017

Thesis Updates from Seniors Due @ 3 p.m.

Seniors who are undertaking a Thesis Project must submit an update by 3 p.m.

Mon, Jan 23, 2017

Spring Classes Begin/First Day of Add-Drop

Wed, Feb 1, 2017

Add/Drop Period Ends

Fri, Feb 10, 2017

English Department Capstone Symposium 9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

All day Frost Library, CHI and Barker Room

Majors will present independent work, drawn from one of their 400-level seminars or from their senior theses at the English Department Capstone Symposium to fulfill the Comprehensive Exam requirement. The ten-minute presentations will be organized into panels. Majors must attend all symposia during their junior and senior years (unless studying abroad), present once, and participate in the conversations generated by the presentations.

Wed, Feb 15, 2017

Alpha Delta Phi/ David P. Patchel Funding Applications Due

Grant support for senior projects. First priority is reserved for English majors and others working in literary studies, creative writing, theater and dance, or film. Monies from the David P. Patchel Memorial Fund can be used for senior projects having to do with the moving image specifically, whether essays, theses, or production projects.

Gregory S. Call Student Research Funding Applications Due

Support for student term-time research is available for Amherst College students for up to $500 in the form of grants. See https://www.amherst.edu/academiclife/dean_faculty/studentfunds for more information.

Thesis Information Session for 18's @ 4 p.m.

Sat, Mar 11, 2017

Mon, Mar 27, 2017

Fri, Mar 31, 2017

Senior Theses Due in Department Office @ NOON

Draft of Thesis Proposals from 18's Due to Advisors @ 4 p.m.

Sat, Apr 1, 2017

Mon, Apr 3, 2017

Pre-registration for Fall 2017

Tue, Apr 4, 2017

Thesis Defenses Take Place These Weeks

Mon, Apr 17, 2017

Second Round Registration

Wed, Apr 19, 2017

Thesis Proposals from 18's Due at 4 p.m.

Department Holds Honors Meeting to Determine Recommendations

Thu, Apr 27, 2017

2017 Senior Theses and Honors Recommendations/Summa Letters Due to Registrar

College Meeting (Underclassman Prizes)

5:00 pm Converse Hall, Cole Assembly Room

Fri, Apr 28, 2017

Last Day of Classes

Wed, May 3, 2017

English Department Picnic @ 4:30 p.m.

Everyone is invited to attend and celebrate the end of the school year!

Fri, May 5, 2017

Deadline for major declaration for Class of 2019

Mon, May 8, 2017

Sun, May 21, 2017