The History Department






Profiles and office hours for history department's afilliated, and contributing faculty & staff.

Departmental misson statement, contact information, prizes & honors, and other resources.

Requirements for the major in History at Amherst College & guidlines for history research papers. 


Announcements & News

Statement of Solidarity


The Department of History supports the students in their quest for a more equitable and just society, and for the creation of a more inclusive community at the college. We have been moved, humbled, and inspired by the testimonies that students of color and their allies have shared in Frost Library over the past few days, and we take seriously their demands for addressing the various forms of structural racism, inequalities, and everyday forms of discrimination on our campus. We are committed to using our classrooms to engage with the broadest range of opinions and to better understand the entrenched problems of inequality in our society, which so often are the products of interwoven historical forces. We applaud our students for taking action on this important issue, and will continue to listen and learn as they shine a light on the struggles of marginalized people at Amherst, in the local community, and globally. This moment presents an opportunity to emerge as a more united community that values and reflects the diversity of experiences and perspectives within the Amherst College family.

The Department of History

History Major Monday Nights

History Major Monday Nights

 Family Weekend: Reception for History and Religion

Family Weekend Reception

 Fred L. Cheyette: Symposium & Memorial Service 

Fredric L. Cheyette

"Land, Law, and Lordship in Medieval France:
A Memorial Symposium for Fredric L. Cheyette"
Saturday, October 10th - 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Pruyne Lecture Hall - Fayerweather 115

A Celebration of the Life of Fredrick L. Cheyette (1932 - 2015)
Sunday, October 11th - 1:00 p.m.
Johnson Chapel

More details, including programs, for Symposium and Memorial Service.

 Last Updated: 18 Nov 2015 TLR

 ARCHIVE of History Announcements & News



Chapin Hall