The Mathematics and Statistics Department recognizes outstanding students in many ways.

Walker Awards

The Walker Awards consist of the following:

  • The Walker Award in Mathematics and Statistics is awarded to a student who has demonstrated initiative, creativity, perseverance, and achievement in Mathematics and Statistics.
  • The Walker Award for Leadership is awarded for outstanding leadership and for contributions to the mathematics and statistics community at Amherst.
  • The Walker Teaching Award is awarded to a student for accomplishment and promise in teaching and tutoring of mathematics or statistics.
  • The Walker Prizes in Problem Solving, established by William J. Walker of Newport, Rhode Island. Two prizes are awarded to members of the first-year class and two prizes to members of the sophomore class for proficiency in mathematical problem solving, determined by an examination.

Nomination Process for Walker Awards

Nominees are solicited for the Leadership and Teaching Awards from students. Any Amherst student is eligible to nominate any number of students for these awards. Nominations for 2019 will be collected in the Spring semester. Please contact Prof. Ching ( if you have any questions.

Recent Walker Award winners:

The Walker Award in Mathematics and Statistics:

2017:  Jonathan Che, Hui Xu, and Bowen Yang

The Walker Award for Leadership:

2017:  Yen Nhi Truong Vu

The Walker Teaching Award:

2017 Yariana Diaz and Obinna Ukogu

Walker Competition

The Walker Competition is a mathematical problem-solving competition open to all first-year and sophomore students. Problems are challenging in nature. The competition is a 3-hour exam without access to books, notes or calculators. In 2018 the exam took place on Monday 9 April.

Recent Walker Prize in Problem Solving Winners:

2017:  First Year Students:  Alexander Mangiafico, Ralph Skinner, Jekabs Mezinskis
Sophomores:  1st Jamie Tucker-Foltz, 2nd place Gregory Carroll
2016:  First Year Students: Alex Santos, Jamie Tucker-Foltz and Gregory Carroll 
Sophomores:  1st Bowen Yang, 2nd place Hui Xu
2015:  First Year Students:  1st place Bowen Yang, 2nd place An Thu Hoang and Tobias Schwed
Sophomores:  1st place Fan Hao Yang, 2nd place Yen Nhi Truong Vu
2014:  First Year Students:  1st place Fanhau Yang, 2nd place Yen Nhi Truong Vu
Sophomores:  1st place Ilya Kiselev, 2nd place Hannah Goodwillie

Recent Walker Exams:

Robert H. Breusch Prizes

Each year, the Robert H. Breusch Prizes are awarded to the seniors who, in the opinion of the faculty, have presented the best honors theses in mathematics and statistics.

Recent Breusch Prize Winners:

2017: Yen Nhi Truong Vu
2016: Rebecca Danning and Hannah Goodwillie
2015: Dvij Bajpai, Eddie Kim, and Darius Onul
2014: Sunny Xiao

All mathematics and statistics senior thesis writers are elected to Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society. See our list of all recent thesis writers.

Mu Sigma Rho

Amherst nominates outstanding students in Statistics to membership in Mu Sigma Rho,the National Statistics Honorary Society.

Mu Sigma Rho Nominees:

2017:  Megan Adamo, Jordan Browning, Pei Gong, Jennifer Halbleib, Caleb Ki, Andrew Kim, Timothy Lee, Harrison Marick, Brendan Seto, Syed Abbas Shah, Margaret Shea, Olivia Xu, and Leonard Yoon

2016: Jonathan Che, Stephany Flores-Ramos, Paul Gramieri, Connor Haley, Azka Javaid, Rishi Kowalski, Levi Lee, Amanda Rosenbaum, Muling Si, Sarah Teichman, and Alex Titelbaum

2015: Johannes Ferstad, Jason Premo, Thomas Savage, Jarvis Sill, and Ningyue (Christina) Wang

2013: Russell Chen and David (Hao) Zhang


Five College Statistics Prize

2017:  Azka Javaid, Caleb Ki, and Muling Si

2016: Christina Wang

2015: Jarvis Sill