October 21, 2017 - 7:00 pm to 8:00 pm (already occurred)
  • Tickets Required

Saturday, Oct. 21, at 7 p.m. in Buckley Recital Hall, the Amherst Symphony Orchestra continues its yearlong survey of American concert music with a tribute to 20th-century master Aaron Copland.

In works such as "Fanfare for the Common Man" and "Four Dance Episodes" from the ballet Rodeo, Copland created a definitive and instantly recognizable musical vernacular which to this day evokes the "can-do" optimism and the wide open spaces of our country. Copland also drew on contemporary influences such as Stravinsky and jazz to create innovative masterpieces such as the "Clarinet Concerto," and imagined urban landscapes as well as those of Appalachia and the prairie in works such as "Quiet City." The ASO performs all four works on its concert; Leonard Yoon '18 is the clarinet soloist.

Full details of the orchestra's season: http://www.amherstsymphonyorchestra.com

Tickets may be purchased only at the door. Prices are $10 for the general public; $5 for senior citizens, students with ID and children under 12; and free to Amherst students and all Five College students with ID.

Additional Info

ASO website

Contact Info

Alisa Pearson
(413) 542-2195
image of e-mail address@amherst.edu


53 College Street, Amherst, MA.