This is a past event
  • Tickets Required

The Amherst Symphony Orchestra (ASO) presents the third of its ongoing series of works by Russian classical composers with a concert of music by Khatchaturian, Glazunov and Rimsky-Korsakov.

The concert opens with the propulsive and percussive “Sabre Dance,” from Aram Khatchurian’s ballet Gayane, a wild “wedding dance” of Armenian folk melodies so popular that it topped U.S. jukebox charts in 1948. The performance continues with the Romantic violin concerto of Alexandr Glazunov, with soloist Maya Bulos '20, and closes with Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s showpiece "Scheherazade." This iconic masterpiece depicts the heroic legend of a vizier’s daughter who outwits an embittered, murderous monarch. She thus saves her own life and those of countless other women by telling captivating tales over the course of 1,001 nights.

For information on ticketing and directions to the concert, see

Tickets may be purchased at the door only. Tickets are $10 for the general public; $5 for senior citizens, students with ID and children under 12; and free to Five College students with ID.

Additional Info

ASO website

Contact Info

Alisa Pearson
(413) 542-2195
Please call the college operator at 413-542-2000 or e-mail if you require contact info