This is a past event
  • Registration Required

This Family Weekend concert features performances by all three of the Amherst College large music ensembles. In time for the 2022 elections, student ensembles explore the theme of suffrage:

The Jazz Ensemble premieres a new work titled "Soliloquy," by composer Erica Seguine, and the Amherst Symphony Orchestra performs Margaret Bonds' "Montgomery Variations" (1965). And after a two-year COVID delay, the Choral Society and Amherst Symphony Orchestra showcase the premiere performance of "Say Your Name," composed by Reena Esmail, with texts by poet Rebecca Gayle Howell, celebrating 100 years of women’s suffrage. This concert is FREE.

To reserve your tickets, please use this sign-up form:

Most recent COVID protocols apply.

Amherst College is proud to announce the world premiere of "Say Your Name," a voting-rights cantata composed by Reena Esmail and written by Rebecca Gayle Howell. Here is the resilient story of Democracy, a woman battered by gaslighting and confusion. As she finds the courage to remember who she is, she learns what we all must: that to guard our thoughts is to guard our nation. Featuring soloist Sherezade Panthaki, the Amherst Choral Society and members of the Amherst College Orchestra, and conducted by Dr. Arianne Abela, this startling half-hour production will inspire audiences to the voting booth, this fall and beyond.

Ready to vote? See a handy list of voter registration deadlines by state below:

Contact Info

Amherst College Concert Office
(413) 542-2195
Please call the college operator at 413-542-2000 or e-mail if you require contact info