This is a past event
  • Open to the Public

The Amherst Symphony Orchestra celebrates Family Weekend at Amherst College by presenting "Profiles in Courage II: MLK."

Featured are the final movement of Duke Ellington's Three Black Kings ("Martin Luther King"); Samuel Barber's Adagio for Strings; and Lee Hoiby's I Have a Dream - a setting of excerpts from King's address at the Lincoln Memorial during the March on Washington in 1963. The ASO also continues its survey of canonic second symphonies with Howard Hanson's Symphony #2 ("Romantic.")

Professor Jason Robinson of the Amherst College Music Department is featured as tenor saxophone soloist in the Ellington. And Brian Keith Johnson, baritone, is guest soloist in Hoiby's I Have a Dream, which he has performed with the Cleveland Orchestra.

Buckley Recital Hall, Arms Music Center, at Amherst College. FREE and open to the public. No tickets required.

Contact Info

Alisa Pearson
(413) 542-2199
Please call the college operator at 413-542-2000 or e-mail if you require contact info