Amherst offers the Bachelor of Arts degree in 41 majors in the arts, sciences, social sciences and humanities. Students can carry more than one major, create their own interdisciplinary major or engage in independent scholarship. Many students delve more deeply into their major field by undertaking honors theses as seniors. Often the equivalent of graduate-level work, theses have taken the form of a major paper, scientific investigation or creative work. Departmental and program majors are offered in the following areas:

Amherst College Majors

*Separate majors within a single department.
** Program major
Δ The Classics department offers four majors: Greek, Latin, Classics, and Classical Civilization.
A student may petition to become an Anthropology-Sociology major.