Weekly Colloquium

Most weeks during the semester, we host a scholar for a one-day visit. The visit culminates with a public talk on a topic of contemporary physics or astronomy. Students are welcome to these talks, and seniors are required to attend at least nine over the course of a year. Near the end of each semester, honors thesis students give public lectures on their work.  We gather before the talks for tea, coffee, and cookies at 3:45, Ground Lobby of Science Center followed by the talk at 4:00 pm in A011.

Our Astronomy program is part of the Five College Astronomy Department, which hosts its own colloquium series Thursdays at 3:45 pm at UMass in LGRT 1033. 

  • If you would like to be mailed seminar announcements, please send an email to physics@amherst.edu.
  • Contact colloquium organizer Alice Simmoneau (asimmoneau@amherst.edu) with any questions about colloquia.

Tue, Sep 10, 2019

Welcome Back Pizza Party

Students interested in learning more about and/or declaring a Physics & Astronomy Major are invited to attend this information session. During this session you will learn about the requirements for the major as well as opportunities available for students in the Physics & Astronomy department. First year and transfer students are encouraged to attend! Meet department faculty, staff and majors!

Tue, Sep 17, 2019

Tue, Sep 24, 2019

Tue, Oct 1, 2019

Tue, Oct 8, 2019

Tue, Oct 22, 2019

Tue, Oct 29, 2019

Myriam Sarachik, City College of New York

Tue, Nov 5, 2019

Tue, Nov 12, 2019

Tue, Nov 19, 2019