Weekly Colloquium

Most weeks during the semester, we host a scholar for a one-day visit. The visit culminates with a public talk on a topic of contemporary physics or astronomy. Students are welcome to these talks, and seniors are required to attend at least nine over the course of a year. Near the end of each semester, honors thesis students give public lectures on their work.  For Fall 2020 these events will take place on Zoom.  

Our Astronomy program is part of the Five College Astronomy Department, which hosts its own colloquium series Thursdays at 3:45 pm at UMass. 

  • Contact colloquium organizer Alice Simmoneau with any questions about colloquia, zoom links or being added to our mailing list.

Tue, Feb 9, 2021

Information Session for Junior Physics & Astronomy Majors

Information Session for Junior Physics & Astronomy majors beginning at 4:00 p.m.. This will be an informational meeting for all juniors where we will discuss how to go about applying to graduate school and options and procedures for honors thesis projects.

Tue, Feb 16, 2021

Weekly Colloquium

Tue, Feb 23, 2021

Weekly Colloquium

Tue, Mar 2, 2021

James H. Dickerson II, Ph.D. (Jay) '94

Tue, Mar 9, 2021

Weekly Colloquium

Tue, Mar 16, 2021

Weekly Colloquium

Tue, Mar 23, 2021

Weekly Colloquium

Tue, Mar 30, 2021

Weekly Colloquium

Tue, Apr 6, 2021

Weekly Colloquium

Tue, Apr 13, 2021

Weekly Colloquium