Weekly Colloquium

Most weeks during the semester, we host a scholar for a one-day visit. The visit culminates with a public talk on a topic of contemporary physics or astronomy. Students are welcome to these talks, and seniors are required to attend at least nine over the course of a year. Near the end of each semester, honors thesis students give public lectures on their work.   

Our Astronomy program is part of the Five College Astronomy Department, which hosts its own colloquium series Thursdays at 3:45 pm at UMass. 

  • Contact colloquium organizer Alice Simmoneau with any questions about colloquia, or being added to our mailing list.

Tomorrow - Tue, Nov 30, 2021

Physics/Astronomy Senior Thesis Talks

1. Samuel Schulz; Faculty Advisor: David Hall
2. Sophia Koh; Faculty Advisor: David Hall
3. Ikram Gabiyev; Faculty Advisor: Larry Hunter
4. Addison Hartman; Faculty Advisor: David Hanneke

Tue, Dec 7, 2021

Physics/Astronomy Senior Thesis Talks

1. Beck Dacus; Faculty Advisor: Kate Follette
2. David Formica; Faculty Advisors: Kate Follette & Connor Robinson
3. Khalid Mohamed; Faculty Advisor: Kate Follette
4. Subin Manandhar; Faculty Advisor: Will Loinaz

Tue, Jan 18, 2022

Thu, Jan 20, 2022

Tue, Jan 25, 2022

Thu, Jan 27, 2022

Tue, Feb 1, 2022

Tue, Feb 8, 2022

Teaching Assistant Training

Tue, Feb 15, 2022

Information Session for Junior Physics & Astronomy Majors

Information Session for Junior Physics & Astronomy majors beginning at 4:00 p.m.. This will be an informational meeting for all juniors where we will discuss how to go about applying to graduate school and options and procedures for honors thesis projects.

Tue, Feb 22, 2022