A substantial first and second prize will be awarded for essays by seniors dealing in a scholarly manner with religion. The approach may be historical, literary, philosophical or scientific, but the focus of the essay should be on religious subject matter or on patterns of religious thought, sensibility, and conduct. Though the prizes are most often awarded to honors theses, relevant term papers and substantial essays written specifically for this competition will also be considered.  Please submit three copies of your entry no later than Friday, April 14, 2017 to the Religion Department Office. If your department's thesis due date is after April 14 and you wish to submit your thesis, please be in contact with Professor Tariq Jaffer.

Interested students are invited to consult Professor Tariq Jaffer, Chairman of the Moseley Committee, for further information regarding the terms of this competition.

The recipient(s) of the Moseley Prize for the year 2017 will be announced at Senior Assembly, Wednesday, May 3, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. in Johnson Chapel, Amherst College.

Winners of the Moseley Prize 2016

First Prize 

Gabriela Espinosa '16

“Amma:  The Hindu Hugging Saint Embodied Devotion, Transnational Belief, and the Creation of a Rose-Scented Ministry”

Second Prizes

Jacob Greenwald '16

“The Arab and Islamic Nation:  JRTN and the Sufi-Ba’thist Synthesis”

Robert Neel '16

“Stretching Hearts:  Understanding Sexuality Politics and Institutional Homophobia in the Anglo-Caribbean”