Eisenstein International Network Conference 2: Method and More

March 2021 

For our second conference, Eisenstein International Network members will present new research on Eisenstein’s Method and related topics. Sessions will be held in 4 successive weeks in March. They will be available live via Zoom and will be recorded for later viewing. 

Sessions will be held on Fridays and Saturdays, at 12.00 noon NY time (EST); 4pm Rio de Janeiro, 6pm London, 7pm Berlin, 10pm Moscow; 6am Melbourne (+ 1 day). The keynote by Maria Stavrinaki on 3/5/21 will be a 2:00 p.m. EST (8:00 Paris). Please register for each individual session. 

 ________________________________________________________________________

Friday March 5 (register here)

2:00 EST

Keynote: Maria Stavrinaki

Respondent: Antonio Somaini

________________________________________________________________________

Saturday March 6 (register here)

Session 1

Elective Affinities I

Chair/Discussant 

Oksana Bulgakowa, Space/Time: Eisenstein/Benjamin

Ilaria Aletto, “How do you talk ‘within yourself’”: Sergei Eisenstein on the inner monologue of Ulysses

 

Elective Affinities II 

Julia Vassilieva, Method: the one and many paradigms

Karla Oeler, Method and Heretical Empiricism

Helen Grace, Eisenstein’s Chinese thinking

________________________________________________________________________

Friday, March 12 (register here)

Session 2

Chair/Discussant

Unity and its Opposites

Dustin Condren, The Author Inside His Theme: Eisenstein and the formation of an intangible oeuvre

Felix Lenz, Hegel’s ‘Grundproblem’ or Eisenstein’s Method as a Synthesis

of a Disparity in Hegel’s Aesthetic

Danila Kuznetsov, Maternal Womb and 2001: A Space Odyssey 

 

Translating Eisenstein

Evgenii Bershtein, Poetics of Sexuality in Eisenstein’s “Method”

Alessia Cervini and Marie Rebecchi, Il Metodo. A Dialogue on the New Italian Edition

 

________________________________________________________________________ 

Saturday, March 20 (register here)

Session 3

Chair/Discussant

 

Interior/Exterior I 

Ana Hedberg Olenina, “Cognition is Construction”:  Eisenstein’s Narrative and Spectators’ Extended   Cognition

Joan Neuberger, Words about Feelings in Eisenstein’s Method: A Digital & Textual Analysis.

 

Interior/Exterior II

Ada Ackerman, Artavazd Pelechian and Eisenstein

Yuri Tsivian, Eiertanz and Blumenwunder”: Intellectual Attractions in the Making

 

Primitive and Ornament

Felipe Labaki, "In Praise of the Cine-Chronicle" and documentary film practices 

Nariman Skakov, Ornament as a National Form

 

________________________________________________________________________

Session 4 (register here)

Date & Time: Friday, March 26 

Chair/Discussant

 

Stage & Staging

Vanessa Teixeira de Oliveira, Eisenstein’s Steps – a Hypothesis

Beatrice Picon-Vallin, Meyerhold and Eisenstein, Theatrical Encyclopedia and Method

 

Traces 

Anne Nesbet, Traces of Piranesi

Michael Wedel, Looking for Diego: Velázquez in Eisenstein

 

Form in Music & Literature

Luiz Felipe Soares, A Latin counterpoint/weaving method

Erivoneide Barros, Образности, method of the literary image

 

___________________________________________________________________________

EIN2 is sponsored by the Eisenstein International Network with the generous support of the Amherst Center for Russian Culture at Amherst College.  The language of the symposium will be English.

AttachmentSize
Image icon image002.png128.78 KB