Formerly the SWAGS Prize

Rose Olver In memory of Professor Rose Olver, this prize is awarded annually to the thesis that best analyzes the construction of gender in conjunction with the historical, political, social, cultural, or psychological experiences of subjects. The project should also address gender relations as they intersect with class, race, sexuality, or nationality. Finally, the project should consider the broader implications of its conclusions for the field of sexuality, women’s, and gender studies.

Graduating seniors whose theses focus on sexuality, women’s and gender studies and who have taken two or more courses in these areas, at least one of which was through the Amherst College SWAGS Department, are invited to apply.

Your submission must include:

  1. Thesis
  2. One-paragraph abstract
  3. Titles of the sexuality, women’s and gender studies courses that you have taken

Please e-mail your submission, as an attachment, to the Amherst College SWAGS Department.

The submission deadline is Friday, April 9, 2018.

For more information contact Stephanie Orion, ADC of SWAGS, at 413-542-5781 or

This prize is partially supported by generous donations from Dr. Daniel C. Wack '77 P '13 and Dr. Veronica Kelly P '13, parents of Claudia Wack '13.

Past Winners

2017: Margaret Banks and Ayoung Kim

2016: Rachael Abernethy & Amira Lundy-Harris

2015: Mary Byrne & Kyra Ellis-Moore

2014: Maia Mares & Yun (Nancy) Tang

2013: Claudia Wack

2012: Lilia Kilburn & Sarah Schear

2011: Amanda Barrow & Molly Doyle

Modified 6/30/17