Wendy Woodson Creates Video Installation for Australia’s Immigration Museum

Submitted on Friday, 1/6/2012, at 2:43 PM

Wendy Woodson, the Roger C. Holden 1919 Professor of Theater and Dance—in collaboration with designer Kathy Couch ’95 and sound designer Myles Mumford—has created a video installation titled Belonging: Reflections on Place, which will run in the Immigration Museum in Melbourne, Australia, until Jan. 22, 2012. The installation incorporates ambient music and street sounds, projected footage of movement and travel, and video interviews in which dozens of people from around the world reflect on their experiences as immigrants and refugees to Australia.

John E. Drabinski Publishes "Levinas and the Postcolonial"

Submitted on Friday, 10/28/2011, at 2:32 PM

John E. Drabinski, visiting associate professor of Black studies, is the author of Levinas and the Postcolonial: Race, Nation, Other (published by Edinburgh University Press; distributed in North America by Columbia University Press). He calls the book “an effort at bringing some of the debates in contemporary European postmodern theory into conversation with a set of international authors who speak from the perspective of former colonized people.”

Justin Kimball Wins $10,000 Individual Photographer’s Fellowship

Sept. 9, 2011

Justin Kimball, associate professor of art, has received a $10,000 Individual Photographer’s Fellowship (IPF) from the Aaron Siskind Foundation. The funding will support his latest photography project, through which he intends to document some of the effects of the nation’s economic downturn. 

Howell Chickering Receives Excellence in Teaching Award

June 17, 2011

Howell D. “Chick” Chickering, the G. Armour Craig Professor of Language and Literature, has received the 2011 CARA Award for Excellence in Teaching Medieval Studies from the Medieval Academy of America (MAA). Chickering said he was delighted to have received the award, which he described as “national public validation of [his] work as a teacher at Amherst College.”

Luca Grillo Receives Mention from Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation

Luca Grillo, assistant professor of classics and European studies, received an honorable mention “for excellence of scholarly and teaching achievements” in the recent competition for the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation’s Career Enhancement Fellowship for Junior Faculty.

Professor Rowland Abiodun Wins National Leadership Award

On Friday, March 25, in Los Angeles at the Triennial Symposium of the Arts Council of the African Studies Association (ACASA), Rowland Abiodun, the John C. Newton Professor of Art and the History of Art and Black Studies, received the ACASA Leadership Award.

Sarat Receives Lasting Contribution Award for 1980 Article on Legal Disputes

Austin D. Sarat, the William Nelson Cromwell Professor of Jurisprudence and Political Science, has been selected to receive the Lasting Contribution Award from the American Political Science Association’s Law and Courts section for his scholarly article “The Emergence and Transformation of Disputes: Naming, Blaming, Claiming.”

Ilan Stavans to Publish FSG Book of Twentieth-Century Latin American Poetry

Ilan Stavans, the Lewis-Sebring Professor in Latin American and Latino Culture, has edited The FSG Book of Twentieth-Century Latin American Poetry: An Anthology (Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2011). To mark the book’s official publication date of Tuesday, March 29, Stavans will conduct a discussion and poetry reading with poet and University of Massachusetts Professor Martín Espada at 4:30 p.m. in the Cole Assembly Room of Converse Hall.

Deborah Gewertz Honored By Association of Social Anthropologists in Oceania

Deborah Gewertz, the G. Henry Whitcomb 1874 Professor of Anthropology, and her research collaborator, Frederick Errington, a Distinguished Professor of Anthropology, Emeritus, at Trinity College in Hartford, Conn., were jointly named honorary fellows of the Association of Social Anthropologists in Oceania (ASAO) at the organization’s annual meeting Feb. 9 to 12. Including Gewertz and Errington, the distinction is currently held by 16 scholars in recognition of their distinguished contributions to the field of social anthropology in Oceania.