The Office of the Provost and Dean of the Faculty is open weekdays, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. during the summer).

Converse Hall, Rm 103A
Corner of Route 9 and Route 116

Mailing Address:
Office of the Provost and Dean of the Faculty
Amherst College
P.O. Box 5000
Amherst, MA 01002-5000

Phone: (413) 542-2334
Fax: (413) 542-2621

Provost and Dean of the Faculty

Catherine Epstein Catherine Epstein
Provost and Dean of the Faculty
Winkley Professor of History
Phone: (413) 542-2334
Office: Converse 103A

The provost and dean of the faculty is the chief academic officer of the college and has primary responsibility for matters of academic policy and for the academic budget. The provost serves as secretary to the Committee of Six, the executive committee of the faculty, and as secretary to the faculty. She oversees the Robert Frost Library, the Mead Art Museum, the Beneski Museum of Natural History, the Emily Dickinson Museum, the Office of Institutional Research and Registrar Services, the Center for Community Engagement, the Loeb Center for Career Exploration and Planning, the Center for Humanistic Inquiry, the Center for Russian Culture, the Center for Teaching and Learning, the Writing Center, the Moss Quantitative Center, the Office of Global Education, and the Office of Fellowships. The provost has joint responsibility for the Department of Physical Education and Athletics. She serves as the college’s Five College deputy. Please contact the provost with any questions or concerns that you may have. Learn more about Provost Epstein »

Dean’s Staff

Jack Cheney John (Jack) T. Cheney
Associate Provost and Associate Dean of the Faculty
Samuel A. Hitchcock Professor of Mineralogy and Geology
Phone: (413) 542-2311
Office: Converse 102C

Please contact Jack with inquiries about faculty personnel procedures, the Faculty Research Award Program (FRAP), the science center project, compliance matters, the Moss Quantitative Center, sponsored  research in the sciences, compliance committees (IACUC, IRB, IBC), equipping classrooms, faculty offices, the Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship (SURF) Program, and with general questions.  He serves as the office’s liaison to the Departments of Information Technology, Facilitiesthe Faculty Computer Committee, and the Science Faculty Steering Committee.

Austin Sarat Austin D. Sarat
Associate Provost and Associate Dean of the Faculty
William Nelson Cromwell Professor of Jurisprudence and Political Science
Phone: (413) 542-5368
Office: Converse 102D

Please contact Austin with inquiries about faculty development programs (orientation for new faculty, mentoring programs, the Global Classroom Project, Schupf Scholars Program, sponsored research in the humanities and social sciences, the Coalition for Faculty Diversity, and the Gregory S. Call Undergraduate Research and Academic Internship Program. Austin serves as the office’s liaison to the Office of Student Affairs, the Writing Center, the Fellowships Office, the Study Abroad Office, and the First-Year Seminar Committee. Please contact Austin with modest requests for funding for research and travel and for support for field trips. 

Janet Tobin Janet S. Tobin
Associate Provost
Phone: (413) 542-8483
Office: Converse 102A

Please contact Janet with inquiries about the Committee of Six, academic policies, faculty hiring procedures (including advertising), funding through the dean’s office, faculty personnel procedures, external reviews of departments and programs, dean’s office communications (including the website), faculty meetings, new faculty orientation, the  Alliance to Advance Liberal Arts Colleges (AALAC), Doshisha faculty and student exchanges, NECHE (reaccreditation), the STINT Program (visiting faculty from Sweden), the faculty/student Thanksgiving-hosting program, and with general questions.  Janet serves as the office’s liaison to the Office of Communications, the trustee office, and the Manager’s Council. She is also the secretary-treasurer of Amherst’s chapter of Phi Beta Kappa.

Nancy Ratner Nancy K. Ratner
Director of Academic Projects 
Phone: (413) 542-2089
Office: Converse 102BB

Please contact Nancy Ratner with questions about the Committee on Educational Policy (including proposals for new courses), the Gregory S. Call Student Research Program, the Schupf Scholars Program, the Post-Baccalaureate Fellowship, and faculty meeting minutes.

Steven Hegarty
Director of Academic Finance
Phone: (413) 542-5937
Office: Converse 102E

Please contact Steven with questions about policies and procedures relating to the academic budget, including academic department budgets, and for help with financial reporting.

Marie Fowler Marie C. Fowler
Assistant to the Provost and Dean of the Faculty/Office Manager  
Phone: (413) 542-2334
Office Converse 102B

Please contact Marie with general questions and with inquiries about events and programming organized by the dean’s office. Also with questions about the Five-College Faculty Exchange “Borrow” Program, submission of requests for leaves, and internal fellowships (Senior Sabbatical Fellowships and Tenure-Track Sabbatical Fellowships).

Emily Jacobson's photo Emily Jacobson
Administrative Assistant
Phone: (413) 542-2014
Office: Converse 103A

Please contact Emily to schedule an appointment with the provost or with questions about the Gregory S. Call Student Research Program, Alpha Delta Phi funding, the Schupf Scholars Program, the Faculty Research Award Program (FRAP), proposals for funding through the Gregory S. Call Academic Intern Program, and the Institutional Review Board (IRB)

Pam Korenewsky Pamela Korenewsky
Academic Administration/Policy Specialist
Phone: (413) 542-8276
Office: Converse 102BB

Please contact Pam with inquiries about faculty personnel policies, procedures, and records; the faculty handbook; and administration of the Committee of Six.

Joanne's Picture Joanne Gustafson
Part-time Administrative Assistant
Phone: (413) 542-7903
Office: Converse 102E

Please contact Joanne with questions about reimbursements for expenses funded through the Office of the Provost and Dean of the Faculty, research and travel allocations, and honoraria/stipends.