Five Colleges, Incorporated

Together with Hampshire, Mount Holyoke and Smith Colleges and the University of Massachusetts Amherst, Amherst College is a constituent member of Five Colleges, Inc. The five Presidents and Chancellor of the Amherst campus of the University of Massachusetts and the Five College Coordinator serve on the Governing Board of Five Colleges, Inc. The Five College Executive Director and his staff are responsible for the cooperative management of activities undertaken by the colleges jointly. The Five College Center is located at 97 Spring Street in Amherst. The President is represented in many Five College discussions by a deputy, who is currently the Dean of the Faculty. Questions concerning matters of Five College interaction or policy should be addressed initially to the Dean. There are many Five College Committees and Seminars involving faculty with shared academic and curricular interests, and administrative officers with comparable responsibilities. For further information on Five College cooperation, please consult the Student Handbook and the Five College website