The Cooperative Doctor of Philosophy Degree

A cooperative Doctor of Philosophy program has been established by Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke, and Smith Colleges and by the University of Massachusetts.

When a student has been awarded a degree under this program, the fact that it is a cooperative doctoral degree involving Amherst, Hampshire, Mount Holyoke and Smith Colleges and the University of Massachusetts will be indicated on the diploma, the permanent record, and all transcripts, as well as on the commencement program.

The requirements for the degree are identical to those for the Ph.D. degree at the University of Massachusetts except for the statement relating to "residence." For the cooperative Ph.D. degree, "residence" is defined as the institution where the dissertation is being done.

Students interested in this program should write to the Dean of the Graduate School at the University of Massachusetts. However, students who wish to work under the direction of a member of the Amherst Faculty must have their proposal approved by the Dean of the Faculty of Amherst College.