I. Introduction

Amherst College awards Senior Sabbatical Fellowships to tenured members of the faculty upon approval by the provost and dean of the faculty, in consultation with the Faculty Executive Committee, of a proposal for a program of research, study, writing, or other creative work to advance their professional growth and effectiveness as a scholar and teacher. 

The fellowship consists of the sum necessary to raise sabbatical salary support from 80 percent to 100 percent for one semester of leave after six semesters of service or two semesters of leave after twelve semesters of service.

II. Eligibility

The program is open to all tenured members of the faculty who are eligible for leave in the year for which the fellowship is sought. 

III. Application for Sabbatic Leave/Fellowship Proposal

Faculty members should inform the provost of their leave plans and submit proposals for the Senior Sabbatical Fellowship electronically by a deadline set each year by the Provost in the academic year preceding that for which the fellowship is sought.  Faculty members who wish to submit their proposal before the due date are encouraged to do so. The Faculty Executive Committee reviews all proposals.  Final approval comes from the board of trustees, and decisions are normally announced in the spring.  Faculty standing for tenure, please should submit a proposal for a Senior Sabbatical Fellowship.  If additional time is needed, please request an extension from the provost.

IV. Report

At the end of the sabbatical, fellowship recipients are required to submit a report to the provost and dean of the faculty summarizing the results of their work. These reports are typically several pages in length and focus on activities undertaken, accomplishments, and plans for the future. Future eligibility for fellowships is contingent on submission of this report.  Please note that as part of the proposal, the Faculty Executive Committee has requested a report from the last sabbatical.

(The Senior Sabbatical Fellowship Program is funded in part by the H. Axel Schupf ’57 Fund for Intellectual Life.)