Provost's Program to Introduce New Faculty to the College: Schedule for Opening Session Three

Work on this page is ongoing.  Please check back often.

Friday, August 30, 2019
Alumni House

Continental Breakfast
9:00 a.m.

Academic Resources for Students
9:15 a.m. to 9:45 a.m.
This session will focus on the work of the Writing Center and the Moss Quantitative Center. Jessica Kem, director of the Writing Center; Adam Honig, faculty director of the Moss Quantitative Center and professor of economics; and Jennifer Innes, director of the Moss Quantitative Center, will provide information and respond to questions.

Tenure and Promotion (for tenure-track faculty)
9:45 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.
John Cheney, associate provost and associate dean of the faculty, and Janet Tobin, associate provost, will review procedures for reappointment and tenure and answer questions.

Getting the Most from Your Visit (for visiting faculty)
9:45 a.m. to 10:30 a.m.

Being a visiting faculty member at Amherst can be a very rewarding and exciting experience.  In this session, colleagues who have been/are visiting faculty members will reflect on their experiences as visitors.  What worked for them in helping to get the most out of being at Amherst?  What pitfalls can be anticipated and avoided? Sharing their perspectives will be Yagil Eliraz, assistant professor of theater and dance; Amy Cox Hall, visiting assistant professor of anthroplogy; and Mark Jacobson, John J. McCloy Visiting Professor of American Institutions.

10:30 a.m. to 11:00 a.m

"Things I Love About Amherst: The Perspectives of Students, Faculty, and Staff
11:00 a.m. to 11:45 a.m.          
The opening orientation sessions will conclude with some brief reflections on things that faculty, staff, and students find to be most distinctive and rewarding about Amherst College.  Offering their perspectives will be Christopher Kingston, professor of economics; Catherine Sanderson, Manwell Family Professor in Life Sciences (psychology); Christine Overstreet, director of fellowships; Theresa Dufresne, deputy chief of campus police; Jeremy Thomas '21; and Rebecca Novick '21

11:45 a.m.