The Original Shticktionary: 1,111 Servings of Shticken Soup for Wordplay Lovers cover
The Original Shticktionary: 1,111 Servings of Shticken Soup for Wordplay Lovers
by Dr. Dennis R. Ridley '64
View author page | View alumni profile
CreateSpace; 2012; 358 pp.
Genre: Non-fiction
Category: Humor
Additional Information - Library Catalog

The Original Shticktionary is a comic dictionary in the tradition of Ambrose Bierce's The Devil's Dictionary and Evan Esar's Comic Dictionary. But according to Dr. Richard Summerville's Prologue, the Shticktionary is much more than a comic dictionary. The work, says Dr. Summerville, is "filled with rich tongue-in-cheek humor, irony, and occasional lampooning." Much of the wordplay is adapted to the contemporary American scene in 2012. Again from Dr. Summerville's Prologue: “The Shticktionary reveals Dr. Ridley as a genuine master of words.”