The mission of the Executive Committee is to serve, support, and advise Amherst College and its alumni. The Committee seeks to achieve this

  • by functioning as the principal liaison between the College and its alumni;
  • by promoting and facilitating the engagement of alumni and their meaningful participation in the life and future of the College;
  • by inspiring alumni to support the College through contributions of service and philanthropy; and
  • by supporting the College’s mission of advancing the liberal arts and teaching and advising undergraduates.

The Executive Committee (EC) is composed of: 15 alumni, the Co-Chairs of the Alumni Fund, and the President of the Society of the Alumni. They work closely with the Office of Alumni and Parent Programs as an advisory body to strengthen alumni engagement.  The EC meets three times a year, once on campus in the fall, and then a winter and a spring meeting take place in Boston, New York City, or Washington, D.C.  Committee members serve three-year terms, and five new members are appointed each year.

Executive Committee Members 2016-2017

Annette Sanderson '82Chair (term expires 2017)

Anne-Claire C. Roesch '08, President, Society of the Alumni/Vice Chair (term expires 2017)

Joseph F. McDonald '58, P'93,  (term expires 2017)

Hugh R. Jones, Jr '60 (term expires 2019)

Timothy W. Armour '70, P'07, '01, Alumni Fund Co-Chair (term expires 2018)

Jonathan J. Einhorn '70 (term expires 2018)

Stephen Gang '72, P'09, '04 (term expires 2017)

Thomas P. Sullivan '78 (term expires 2018)

Elizabeth Julier Wyeth '80, P'17 (term expires 2017)

Dhuane Gebauer Stephens '83 (term expires 2018)

Katherine K. Chia '88, Alumni Fund Co-Chair (term expires 2017)

Karen B. Giorgio '92 (term expires 2019)

Jonathan K. Arnold '93 (term expires 2018)

Mabel I. Lajes-Guiteras '99 (term expires 2017)

Angela N. Brown '00 (term expires 2017)

Francis P. Brown, Alumni Fund Co-Chair  (term expires 2019)

Kaku A. So-Armah '07 (term expires 2018)

Evan Redwood '12 (term expires 2017)

Tania M. de Sousa Dias '13 (term expires 2018)