Application Information

Update: Due to the ongoing challenges associated with the pandemic, the MMUF Application deadline has been extended to Friday, March 26, 2021

Under the terms of the grant, qualified undergraduates majoring in PhD programs in the following fields are encouraged to pursue PhD programs in the same fields:

Anthropology and Archaeology, Area/Cultural/Ethnic/Gender Studies, Art History, Classics, Geography and Population Studies, English, Film, Cinema and Media Studies (theoretical focus), Musicology, Ethnomusicology and Music Theory, Foreign Languages and Literatures, History, Linguistics, Literature, Performance Studies (theoretical focus), Philosophy and Political Theory, Religion and Theology, Sociology, and Theater (theoretical focus).

The fellowship is not intended to support students who intend to go on to medical school, law school or other professional schools. For more information about the MMUF fellowship program, please visit 

Questions about the program may be directed to the Program Coordinator, Rosemary Effiom Applicants are also encouraged to seek advice from members of the Mellon Mays Faculty Advisory Committee(information below).

Important dates:

  • The deadline for the submission of the complete application is Friday, March 26th, 2021.
  • Semi-finalists are invited to interview with the MMUF Faculty Advisory Board mid-April and are notified of the status of their application shortly thereafter. 

Please submit completed MMUF applications to Incomplete or late applications will not be reviewed.

On behalf of the Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship Faculty Advisory and Selection Committee (listed below), we welcome your application and appreciate your interest in the Mellon Mays Undergraduate Fellowship Program. 

Faculty Advisory and Selection Committee:

Lisa Brooks, Associate Professor of English and American Studies
C. Rhonda Cobham-Sander, Emily C. Jordan Folger Professor of Black Studies and English
David Cox, William J. Walker Professor of Mathematics
Rosemary Effiom, Director, Office or Student Academic Development (ex-officio)
Solsiree Del Moral, Associate Professor of American Studies and Black Studies; Chair of Black Studies
Allen Hart, James E. Ostendarp Professor of Psychology, Faculty Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Officer
Norm Jones, Chief Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Officer
Paul A. Schroeder Rodriguez Professor of Spanish; Chair of Spanish