The Advisory Budget Committee (ABC) was formed in Spring 2009 in response to the global economic downturn.  The Board of Trustees requested that the College community develop plans for how to keep Amherst’s projected budgets in line with what its reduced endowment can contribute.  The ABC included faculty, students, administrators, staff, trustees, alumni and parents who reached a consensus about the ways that Amherst should balance its revenue sources and control its costs in order to preserve what is most vital—the quality of the education students receive here.  In June 2009, the ABC published its recommendations, which were endorsed by the Board of Trustees on August 3, 2009.

Members of the Committee

Chair: Gregory Call, Dean of the Faculty and Professor of Mathematics

Richard Ammons ’74, President, Society of the Alumni
Daniel Barbezat, Professor of Economics
Sandra Burkett, Associate Professor of Chemistry
Suzanne Coffey P’04, Director of Athletics and Physical Education
Mark Fiegenbaum, Technical Services Associate/Acquisitions, Library
Anthony Marx, President and Professor of Political Science
Cullen Murphy ’74, Trustee
Lisa Raskin, John William Ward Professor of Psychology (Neuroscience)
Ronald Rosbottom, Winifred L. Arms Professor in the Arts and Humanities and Professor of French and European Studies
Peter Tang ’10, Student (AAS Treasurer)
Diana Chapman Walsh, Trustee
Kate Wellspring, Collections Manager, Museum of Natural History
Patrick Williamson, Edward H. Harkness Professor of Biology
Selena Xie ’09, Student (AAS Senator)
Beth Yarbrough, Willard Long Thorp Professor of Economics
Jide Zeitlin ’85, Chairman, Board of Trustees
Yinian ‘Nic’ Zhou ’10, Student (AAS Senator)