WMBC Staff

Director ~ David Hixon

Hixon2David Hixon
Amherst Head Coach and WMBC Director
David Hixon is currently in his 32nd year as Basketball coach, at Amherst College. In his first year, 1977-78, Hixon was the youngest college varsity head coach in the country. As a player, he captained the Amherst Lord Jeffs during the 1974-75 campaign.*

In September of 2006, Hixon was inducted into the prestigious New England Basketball Hall of Fame.

A veteran of many years of summer camps as both coach and player, Hixon feels that WMBC gives young players the instruction and experience which is needed for their development.



The staff consists of: Local high school and college coaches, present and former outstanding players, and coaches from other around New England as both coaches and guest lecturers.

Past and Present WMBC Staff Members:

TeamAmherst College Basketball Team
2007-08 Division III National Champions

Ron Buelow
Amherst College
Len Larabee
Westfield H.S.
Alan Wolejko
Westfield State/Umass/HCC
Claude Salomoa
Hampshire Regional
Dan Orzulak
Ware H.S.
Rey Harp
Northampton H.S.
Bill Reed
Smith Academy
Leon Szopa
Easthampton H.S.
Fred Ciaglo
Hopkins Academy
Marty Sanderson
Frontier Regional
Russ Reilly
Middlebury College

Don Doucette
Bob Licare
University of Lowell
Jim Todd
Salem State University
Rick Boyages

Ohio State

Phil Rowe
Keene State/UNH/GW
Tommy Verdell

Wilbraham & Monson

G.P. Gromacki
Amherst College
Luke Flockerzi
Skidmore College
Adam Hutchinson
W & L College

*In his 32 years as a Head Coach of the "Lord Jeffs" his teams have won nearly 600 games, 13 Little Three titles and have earned 21 postseason invitations. His 1987-88 team won the New England ECAC Championship and finished 21-5. His 1993-94 team went to the "Elite Eight" round at the NCAA Tournament and finished 22-5. The 1994-95 and 1995-96 Teams won the ECAC Championship.

Since 2000, Amherst has won four NESCAC Championships and gone to the NCAA Tournament every season. In 2007, the team finished with a program record 30-2 record, and won the NCAA Division III National Championship.