Amherst Women Win Third Consecutive Meet; Men Place Second

Will Yochum
First-year Will Yochum continued his impressive rookie campaign with a sixth-place finish at the Williams College Purple Valley Classic.

WILLIAMSTOWN, MA – The Amherst College women’s cross country won its third meet in as many weeks, as the Lord Jeffs took home the title at the Williams College Purple Valley Classic. Junior Elise Tropiano (Plainview, NY) led Amherst with her second-place finish, while sophomore Daniel Murner (Crestwood, KY) placed fifth to lead the Amherst men to a runner-up finish. 

Tropiano completed the 6k race in 22 minutes and four seconds, only 12 seconds behind the leader. A pair of Amherst runners joined Tropiano in the top 10, as senior co-captain Heather Wilson (Danvers, MA) and sophomore Sophia Galleher (Denver, CO) placed fifth (22:29) and ninth (22:54), respectively.

Four more Jeffs placed in the top 25 and were separated by a mere 24 seconds, with junior Caitlin McDermott-Murphy (Newton, MA) finishing 15th (23:31), followed by senior co-captain Kim Partee (Brentwood, TN) in 17th (23:39), junior Nicole Anderson (Kailua, HI) in 21st (23:46) and senior Katie Moravec (Chico, CA) in 24th (23:53). The seven Amherst runners in the top 25 was tied for the most in the race, as Williams (3rd overall) also featured seven top-25 finishers.

Murner completed the 8k race in an even 26 minutes, less than one minute behind the leader, with first-year standout Will Yochum (Goleta, CA) finishing right on his heels in a time of 26:01 to place sixth. First-year Florian Reichert (Hanover, Germany) closed out the top 10 with a time of 26:13, while sophomore Eric Holaday (Moorestown, NJ) marked the final Jeff in the top 25, as he placed 14th at 26:18. Amherst’s having four runners in the top 15 was second only to Williams (five), who finished just 12 points ahead of the Jeffs.

The Lord Jeffs return to action Saturday, Oct. 6 for the Open New England Championships at Franklin Park in Boston. Amherst will be competing against a talented field of runners from Divisions I, II and III.