Amherst Leads NESCAC with 10 All-Conference Honors

Ned Nedeau earned his second consecutive NESCAC Coach of the Year honor.

AMHERST, MA – The NESCAC announced today the members of its 2007 Cross Country All-Conference Teams, with Amherst College leading all schools with 10 honors. In addition to the First and Second Team awards, first-year Will Yochum (Goleta, CA) was named the men’s Rookie of the Year, senior Heather Wilson (Danvers, MA) earned the women’s Most Outstanding Performer honor, and Ned Nedeau was named the women’s Coach of the Year for the third time in six years.

In addition to being named the Rookie of the Year for his second place finish at the NESCAC Championships, Yochum was the lone first-year to be tabbed an All-Conference member, as he earned a spot on the First Team. Yochum is no stranger to standing out among his class, as he posted the best finish among Division III first-years and the third best finish among all first-years at the Open New England Championships, and was named NESCAC Performer of the Week earlier this season.

Amherst cleaned house on the women’s side, with six runners and Nedeau taking home All-Conference honors. Representing the Lord Jeffs on the First Team are senior co-captains Wilson and Kim Partee (Brentwood, TN), along with junior Elise Tropiano (Plainview, NY). Wilson earned Second Team honors in each of the past two years, making this her first selection to the First Team.

Partee, the 2004 NESCAC Rookie of the Year, has earned All-Conference honors in each of her four seasons at Amherst, including two consecutive First Team selections. Tropiano’s First Team honor is the first of her career. Wilson was named the NESCAC Women’s Performer of the Week twice this season, while Tropiano earned the honor once.

Representing Amherst on the Second Team and earning the first All-Conference honors of their careers are juniors Nicole Anderson (Kailua, HI) and Caitlin McDermott-Murphy (Newton, MA). Joining the duo is senior Meg Ray (Menands, NY), who earned Second Team honors in 2006 as well.

Women's Coach of the Year went to Nedeau for the second consecutive year, as he guided the Jeffs to their second straight NESCAC title. Prior to 2006, the Amherst women had never won the conference championship.

The Lord Jeffs return to action Saturday, Nov. 3 for the ECAC Championships, where last year the Amherst men placed third and the Amherst women placed first.