Head Coach Jack Arena '83

ArenaContact Information:
413-542-7950 (office)

Jack Arena enters his 26th season at the helm of the Amherst College men’s ice hockey team. During his tenure, the team has produced the 10 winningest seasons in program history and has qualified for every NESCAC Championship.

The 1992 and 1996 teams captured the ECAC championship for only the second and third times in the school’s history. The 2000-01 team posted an 18-5-2 record and lost in the NESCAC finals to Middlebury, while finishing sixth in the final USCHO national poll. The 1999-2000 team was the last to earn a point against a national champion (Norwich), a 1-1 tie. The 1998-1999 team had the best won/lost record in the history of the program at 19-3, finishing sixth nationally in the final USCHO poll and qualifying for their first ever NCAA Tournament.  At the conclusion of the 1995-96 season, Arena was awarded both the ECAC East and the New England Hockey Writers Coach of the Year honors.  

A native of Randolph, Mass., Arena became coach of the Lord Jeffs immediately following his senior year as a captain of the men’s hockey team. A four-year varsity letter winner at Amherst, Arena is tied for fourth on the all-time scoring list. He capped off his career in 1983 by receiving the Hobby Baker Award as the best Division III player of the year.  

Arena also serves as the men’s golf coach and has led the Lord Jeffs to four NESCAC titles. He has a master’s degree from the University of Massachusetts, and he and his wife, Diana, are the parents of two daughters, Emily and Ellen, and two sons, Patrick and John.

This season, Arena is once again joined by assistant coaches Darren Reaume and Mike McLaughlin.

Jack Arena's Career Coaching Record

Amherst Highlights During Jack Arena’s Tenure
3 NESCAC semifinal appearances (2001, 2007, 2008)
1 NESCAC finals appearance (2001)
No. 6 USCHO national ranking (2001)
NCAA quarter final appearance (1999)
ECAC East Champions (1996)
ECAC North-South Champions (1992)
ECAC South Runner-up (1991)
8 Little Three titles (1983, 1984, 1986, 1990, 2001, 2003, 2007, 2008)
9 ECAC Tournament appearances (1980, 1982, 1984, 1985, 1988, 1990, 1992, 1996, 1997)