Healey, Dudzik Named to All-NESCAC First Team

Tierney Healey '10

AMHERST, MA – The NESCAC announced today the members of its 2009 Field Hockey All-Conference Teams, with senior tri-captain Tierney Healey (Moreland Hills, OH) and sophomore Carly Dudzik (Darien, CT) representing Amherst College by earning spots on the First Team.

This is the first All-NESCAC selection of Dudzik’s career and the second for Healey, who was named to last year’s Second Team. Amherst’s pair of awards marks the first time since 2001 at least two Lord Jeffs have earned First Team recognition.

Healey has made 21 defensive saves in her four years as one of the most consistent stoppers in the NESCAC. After finishing second in the conference with five saves as a first-year, Healey led the league with six saves as a sophomore. She recorded another five as a junior for the NESCAC’s second highest total, and this year is back at the top of the leader board with five more stops.

Healey has been the backbone of an Amherst defense that is fourth in the NESCAC in scoring defense (1.33 gpg) and has posted five shutouts. She has helped lead the Lord Jeffs to a 37-24 record in the past four years and has never experienced a losing season.

Carly Dudzik '12

The Amherst midfield took a big hit with the loss of All-American Alyssa Dudzik '09 to graduation, but Carly has effectively filled the hole left by her older sister. After Alyssa was named to the All-NESCAC First Team in 2006, 2007 and 2008, Carly has kept the streak going for the Dudzik family.

Dudzik is one of seven players to record at least 10 points for Amherst this year, as her five goals and five assists give her 22 points for her young career. Her first goal of the season came during a 2-0 win over then-top-ranked Bowdoin College, with two of her assists coming against Middlebury in another great performance versus a nationally-ranked opponent.

NESCAC champion Tufts took home Player of the Year (Tamara Brown) and Coach of the Year (Tina McDavitt) honors, with Trinity’s Gina Dinallo and Middlebury’s Lauren Greer being named Defensive Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year, respectively.

Amherst's season continues Wednesday, Nov. 11 against Husson University in the opening round of the NCAA Tournament, with the winner of Wednesday’s game advancing to play at Tufts University this weekend in the second round against Skidmore College.

First Team
F - Christy Bradley (Trinity)
F - Tamara Brown (Tufts)
F - Abby Hine (Connecticut)
M - Emily Blair (Middlebury)
M - Carly Dudzik (Amherst)
M - Ingrid Oelschlager (Bowdoin)
D - Taylor Dyer (Tufts)
D - Tierney Healy (Amherst)
D - Margaret Scholtes (Tufts)
D - Payson Sword (Trinity)
D - Robyn Williams (Trinity)
GK - Gina Dinallo (Trinity)

Second Team
F - Chase Delano (Middlebury)
F - Lauren Greer (Middlebury)
F - Morgan McCauley (Wesleyan)
F - Heather McCormack (Middlebury)
M - Jessica Perkins (Tufts)
M - Meryl Poulin (Colby)
M - Amanda Roberts (Tufts)
M - Whitney Thayer (Williams)
D - Ella Curren (Bowdoin)
D - Samantha Rothkopf (Bates)
D - Amy Siedlecki (Williams)
GK - Tori Redding (Wesleyan)

Player of the Year: Tamara Brown (Tufts)
Defensive Player of the Year: Gina Dinallo (Trinity)
Rookie of the Year: Lauren Greer (Middlebury)
Coach of the Year: Tina McDavitt (Tufts)