NESCAC Announces Spring All-Sportsmanship, All-Academic Teams

NESCAC Primary Logo

AMHERST, MA – The NESCAC has announced its Spring All-Sportsmanship and All-Academic Teams for each sport sponsored by the conference. In addition to its eight All-Sportsmanship honorees, Amherst College placed a conference-high 67 student-athletes on the All-Academic squad.

Amherst surpassed its previous high of 60 Spring All-Academic honorees, which was set in 2008 and matched in 2009. An impressive 73 percent (67-of-92) of the college’s eligible student-athletes met the academic requirements, with the Lord Jeff softball (6-of-6) and women’s tennis (11-of-11) teams each placing the maximum number of juniors and seniors on the list.

Earning All-Sportsmanship recognition for the third consecutive year is softball standout Jackie Tyler ’10 (Ridgewood, NJ), making her one of only three student-athletes in the conference to accomplish the feat. Making a second consecutive appearance on the team is women’s tennis standout Carlissa King ’11 (Bayside, NY), who joins long sprinter Hoiwan Cheung '10 (Hanover, NH) as Amherst’s only spring athletes named to the NESCAC’s All-Conference, All-Academic and All-Sportsmanship ranks.

Rounding out the All-Sportsmanship squad for the Lord Jeffs are second baseman Will Lawton ’10 (Newton, MA), lacrosse midfielders Rob Denious ’10 (Bloomfield Hills, MI) and Tyler Tory-Murphy ’10 (Sea Cliff, NY), ITA National Rookie of the Year Mark Kahan ’13 (Unionville, CT), and senior sprinter Larry Thompson (Atlanta, GA).

To be named to the All-Academic Team, a student-athlete must have reached junior academic standing and have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.35. A transfer student must have completed one year of study at the institution.

The All-Sportsmanship Team is composed of one student-athlete from each institution for each sport and is selected by the players and coaches from their respective team for their positive contributions to sportsmanship. The student-athlete selected must be in good academic standing and a member of the team at the conclusion of the season in order to be eligible for selection.

The All-Sportsmanship Team recognizes student-athletes from each varsity sport who have demonstrated outstanding dedication to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, and spectators. They display sportsmanship not only as a participant in their sport but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. Through their positive actions and example, these student-athletes inspire others to adhere to the quality of sportsmanship that the NESCAC and the NCAA endorse.

Amherst College
2010 NESCAC Spring
All-Academic Honorees

Max McKenna ’11
Jeff Keenan ’11
Will Lawton ’10
Brian Merrigan ’11
Jose Espinosa ’11
Bryce Einhorn ’11
Teddy Blank ’10
Alex Coburn ’11

Jackie Tyler ’10
Alex Chang-Graham ’10
Emily Neill ’10
Sam Presnal ’11
Katie Kervick ’11
Jillian Masi ’11

Men’s Lacrosse
Gabe Mann ’11
Rob Denious ’10
Parker Holcomb ’11
Nick Edwards ’11
Nigel Carr ’10
Matt Levine ’11

Women’s Lacrosse
Tyler Tory-Murphy ’10
Hannah Walker ’10
Gigi Maturo ’11
Kathleen Scheld ’10

Men’s Tennis
Robert Abbey ’10
Sean Doerfler ’11
Alex Gumport ’11
Max Gumport ’11
Alex Kaufman ’10
Dan Kim ’10
Moritz Koenig ’11
Scott London ’10
Tony Sheng ’11

Women’s Tennis
Mimi Bell ’11
Brittany Berckes ’10
Natasha Brown ’11
Danielle Erb ’11
Jennifer Kim ’11
Carlissa King ’11
Laken King ’11
Christina Martinez ’10
Jennifer Ouyang ’10
Jill Wexler ’10
Charlotte Wilinsky ’11

Men’s Outdoor
Track and Field

Kit Callahan ’10
Travis Cohoon ’11
Michael Dolmatch ’11
Carlyle Eubank ’10
Eric Holaday ’10
Pierce Kelley ’11
Ben Klein ’10
Sean Legister ’11
John McGrail ’11
Tommy Moore ’11
Keith Pendergrass ’10
Taylor Perkins ’11
Jack Seaver ’11
Jimmy Swanson ’10
Thebe Tsatsimpe ’11

Women’s Outdoor
Track and Field

Hoiwan Cheung ’10
Caroline Darmody ’10
Sophie Galleher ’10
Catherine Knuff ’10
Zoe Pagonis ’11
Mary Doris Reggie ’10  
Jennifer Rybak ’10
Susan Wasserman ’11