NESCAC Announces All-Academic, Sportsmanship Teams

AMHERST, MA – The NESCAC has announced the members of its 2009 Fall All-Academic and All-Sportsmanship Teams. Forty-two Amherst College student-athletes were selected to the All-Academic Team for maintaining a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.35, while one member of each Lord Jeff fall team earned All-Sportsmanship recognition.

Highlighting Amherst’s honorees is junior volleyball standout Rachel Yorke (Los Angeles, CA), who is one of only seven student-athletes to earn NESCAC All-Academic, All-Sportsmanship and All-Conference honors this year. For the second consecutive year, Yorke was the lone member of the Lord Jeff volleyball squad named to an All-NESCAC Team. Yorke finished second in the conference in digs per set for a third consecutive year and helped lead Amherst to a fourth consecutive 20-win season.

NESCAC Primary Logo

Other notable Amherst student-athletes are Sophia Galleher (Denver, CO) and Mike Taylor (Evanston, IL), who were named NESCAC Player of the Year in their respective sports. Galleher won the 2009 women’s cross country championship, marking the third consecutive year the honor has gone to an Amherst runner. Taylor was named the conference’s Defensive Player of the Year for leading a Lord Jeff football team that claimed the program’s first ever NESCAC title. Taylor spearheaded a unit that currently leads all of Division III in rushing defense (50.9 ypg) and sacks per game (4.75).

Fifteen of Amherst’s 42 All-Academic recipients also earned the honor a year ago, while six also earned All-Conference recognition in their respective sports this year. Leading the way for Amherst was the men’s cross country team, which earned nine All-Academic selections. A total of 373 student-athletes were named to this year’s NESCAC Fall All-Academic Team.

To earn All-Academic recognition, a student-athlete must have reached junior academic standing with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.35. A transfer student must have completed one year of study at the institution.

The All-Sportsmanship Team is composed of one student-athlete from each institution for each sport and is selected by the players and coaches from their respective team. The student-athlete selected must be in good academic standing and a member of the team at the conclusion of the season in order to be eligible for selection. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, and spectators. They display sportsmanship not only as a participant in their sport but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. Through their positive actions and example, these student-athletes inspire others to adhere to the quality of sportsmanship that the NESCAC and the NCAA endorse.

Amherst All-Sportsmanship Honorees
Men’s XC: Eric Holaday (Sr. - Moorestown, NJ)
Women’s XC: Cate Knuff (Sr. - Fairfield, CT)
Field Hockey: Haley Douds (Sr. - South Orange, NJ)
Volleyball: Rachel Yorke (Jr. - Los Angeles, CA)
Football: Chris Govey (Sr. - Easton, MA)
Men’s Golf: Trip Wray (Jr. - Walpole, MA)
Men’s Soccer: Reid Wilson (Sr. - Portland, OR)
Women’s Soccer: Lili Ferguson (Sr. - Winnetka, IL)

Amherst All-Academic Honorees
* 2008 Fall All-Academic selection
^ 2009 All-NESCAC Team member

Field Hockey
Haley Douds (Sr. - South Orange, NJ) *
Rachel Egan (Jr. - Worcester, MA)
Tierney Healey (Sr. - Moreland Hills, OH) ^*
Carly Leahy (Jr. - Weston, MA)
Julie Santosuosso (Jr. - Canton, MA)
Liz Schink (Jr. - Chicago, IL)

Nick Edwards (Jr. - Greenwich, CT)
Dan Pozner (Jr. - Stoughton, MA)
Dan Savage (Sr. - Bronxville, NY) *
Mike Taylor (Sr. - Evanston, IL) ^*
Vincent DiForte (Sr. - Staten Island, NY) *

Men’s Golf
Trip Wray (Jr. - Walpole, MA)

Women’s Golf
Alex Chang-Graham (Sr. - San Carlos, CA) *
Kinne Schwartz (Sr. - Allen, TX) *


Men’s Soccer
Matt Lewis (Sr. - Wayland, MA) ^*
Ian Rothkopf (Jr. - Harvard, MA)
Reid Wilson (Sr. - Portland, OR) *

Women’s Soccer
Jackie Hirsch (Jr. - Wilmette, IL)
Kathy Nolan (Sr. - Palo Alto, CA) *
Hanna St. Marie (Jr. - Brooklyn, NY)
Lili Ferguson (Sr. - Winnetka, IL)
Claire Galiette (Jr. - Avon, CT)

Men’s Cross Country
Kit Callahan (Sr. - Evanston, IL)
Travis Cohoon (Jr. - Rolling Hills Estates, CA)
Carlyle Eubank (Sr. - Santa Ynez, CA)
Eric Holaday (Sr. - Moorestown, NJ) *
Ben Klein (Sr. - Montclair, NJ) *
John McGrail (Jr. - Arlington, VA)
Dan Murner (Sr. - Crestwood, KY) ^
Jack Seaver (Jr. - New Canaan, CT)
Jimmy Swanson (Sr. - New Orleans, LA) *

Women’s Cross Country
Sophia Galleher (Sr. - Denver, CO) ^
Cara Giaimo (Jr. - Sherborn, MA)
Catherine Knuff (Sr. - Fairfield, CT) *
Melissa Pritchard (Jr. - Washington, DC)
Hallie Schwab (Jr. - Stone Ridge, NY)
Mercedes Taylor (Jr. - Falls Church, VA)
Christina Wong (Jr. - Honolulu, HI)

Bethany Belisle (Sr. - Austin, TX) *
Erin Camp (Jr. - Encino, CA)
Laura Hyman (Jr. - Glencoe, IL)
Rachel Yorke (Jr. - Los Angeles, CA) ^