Amherst Places 84 on NESCAC Spring All-Academic Team

Contact: Ben Badua

NESCAC Primary Logo

HADLEY, MA – Ninety-two Amherst College student-athletes were honored as part of the NESCAC’s Spring All-Academic and All-Sportsmanship teams, with 84 Lord Jeffs earning All-Academic recognition.

To be honored on the All-Academic Team, a student-athlete must have reached sophomore academic standing with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.35. A transfer student must have completed one year of study at the institution.

The Amherst men's lacrosse team, which posted a program-record 15 wins en route to its first-ever NCAA Tournament appearance, led the Lord Jeff spring squads with 18 honorees, followed by men’s  outdoor track and field (13). The men’s tennis and women’s outdoor track teams each featured 11 All-Academic selections, followed by women’s tennis (10), women’s lacrosse (9), baseball (6) and softball (5).

Eleven Amherst students earned both All-Academic and All-Conference honors this year, including Mark Kahan '13 and Moritz Koenig '11, who helped the men's tennis team win its first-ever national title this spring. Also being recognized for outstanding athletic success throughout the spring was Ben Scheetz '12, who is making his first appearance on the All-Academic Team after being named the USTFCCCA Regional Outdoor Track Athlete of the Year.

The All-Sportsmanship Team is composed of one student-athlete from each institution for each sport and is selected by the players and coaches from their respective team for their positive contributions to sportsmanship. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents, and spectators. They display sportsmanship not only as a participant in their sport but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives.

Representing Amherst on the All-Sportsmanship Team are Jose Espinosa ’11 (baseball), Matt Levine ’11 (men's lacrosse), Robyn Lightner ’11 (women's lacrosse), Jillian Masi ’11 (softball), Andre Gary ’11 (men's outdoor track and field), Zoe Pagonis ’11 (women's outdoor track and field), Joey Fritz ’14 (men's tennis) and Carlissa King ’11 (women's tennis). King joins Connecticut College men’s tennis senior Trevor Prophet as the only NESCAC student-athletes making their third consecutive appearance on the All-Sportsmanship Team.

A complete list of Amherst's All-Academic honorees can be found below. Visit the NESCAC website for more information about the All-Academic and All-Sportsmanship Teams.

Ramey Bates
Matt Cahn
Cole Cherney
Ryan Conway
Nolan Davis
Danny Gold
Pir Granoff
Sebastian Herdt
Parker Holcomb *
Sam Jakimo
Matt Levine *
Steve Levy
Gabe Mann *
Brian McFeeley
Will Reed
Dan Routh
Rob Schwab
John Sinnigen

Christina Anderson
Reilly Horan
Annemarie Iker
Katie Kervick *
Jillian Masi *

Sean Doerfler *
Alex Gumport *
Max Gumport *
Mark Kahan ^
Dan Keolasy
Alex Kim
Moritz Koenig ^*
Chris Morrison
Will Rives
Tony Sheng *
Robby Sorrel
Sam Sperling

Mimi Bell *
Natasha Brown ^*
Alison Fornell
Anna Hager
Jennifer Kim *
Carlissa King *
Laken King *
Sarah Nyirjesy
Caroline Richman
Caroline Wilinsky *

Claire Bennett
Wyatt Davis
Natalie Dugan
Liz Foye
Meredith LaRose ^
Robyn Lightner
Gigi Maturo *
Julia Viani
Courtney Zitin

Geoff Ainslie
Dillon Buckley
Travis Cohoon *
Andrew Erskine
Pierce Kelley *
John McGrail ^*
Ben Mears
Tommy Moore ^*
Taylor Perkins *
Andrew Reed ^
Ben Scheetz ^
Jack Seaver *
Peter Skurman

Sarah Daly
Marlis Gnirke
Kristen Moulton
Zoe Pagonis *
Elodie Reed
Eliza Schalch
Melissa Sullivan ^
Chibuzo Uwakaneme
Susan Wasserman *
Christina Wong ^
Laura Zaccagnino

Bryce Einhorn *
Jose Espinosa *
Jeff Keenan *
Max McKenna ^*
Brian Merrigan *
Thomas Wheeler

* 2010 Spring
All-Academic selection

^ 2011 Spring
All-Conference selection