NESCAC Announces Fall All-Academic, All-Sportsmanship Teams

NESCAC Primary Logo

AMHERST, MA – Seventy-three Amherst College student-athletes were recognized today when the NESCAC announced its 2010 Fall All-Academic and All-Sportsmanship teams. Seventy Lord Jeffs qualified for the All-Academic ranks, marking the third highest total in the conference.

The All-Academic Team is reserved for sophomore, junior and senior student-athletes who have maintained a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.35. Middlebury College featured 77 honorees, followed by Williams at 72 and Amherst with 70.

Eleven of Amherst’s All-Academic selections were also named to an All-Conference Team this year. Notably, field hockey standout Carly Dudzik ’12 (Darien, CT) earned a second All-NESCAC honor and became the program’s first player since 2000 to be named to the NFHCA All-America First Team. Also landing on the All-Academic Team was Laura Hyman ’11 (Glencoe, IL), who received All-America Honorable Mention status from the American Volleyball Coaches Association.

The All-Sportsmanship Team is composed of one student-athlete from each institution for each sport and is selected by the players and coaches from their respective team. The student-athlete selected must be in good academic standing in order to be eligible for selection. These student-athletes exhibit respect for themselves, teammates, coaches, opponents and spectators. They display sportsmanship not only as a participant in their sport but also as a spectator and in their everyday lives. Through their positive actions and example, these student-athletes inspire others to adhere to the quality of sportsmanship that the NESCAC and the NCAA endorse.

Earning both All-Academic and All-Sportsmanship honors from Amherst were Christina Wong ’11 (women's cross country), Liz Schink ’11 (field hockey), Sean Legister ’11 (football), Mike Belkin ’11 (men's golf) and Maureen Griffin ’11 (women's soccer). Rounding out Amherst’s All-Sportsmanship honorees are Jack Seaver ’11 (men's cross country), Chris Linsmayer ’11 (men's soccer) and Jackie Berkley ’11 (volleyball).

A complete list of Amherst’s 2010 NESCAC Fall All-Academic selections can be found below. For the conference’s complete list, visit the NESCAC website.



Men’s Golf
Mike Belkin ’11
Nate Belkin ’12
Alex Butensky ’13
Trip Wray ’11

Women’s Golf
Jordan Chafetz ’11
Irene Hickey ’13
Hayley Milbourn ’11
Laura Monty ’12
Nina Yoo ’12

Men’s Cross Country
Travis Cohoon ’11
Andrew Erskine ’13
Patrick Grimes ’13
Alec Jacobson ’12
John McGrail ’11

Women’s Cross Country
Sarah Daly ’13
Anna Hager ’12
Keri Lambert ’13
Kristen Moulton ’13
Elodie Reed ’13
Eliza Schalch ’12
Hallie Schwab ’11
Melissa Sullivan ’12
Mercedes Taylor ’11
Christina Wong ’11

Erin Camp ’11
Abigail Hunter ’13
Laura Hyman ’11
Katherine Kanoff ’12
Kristin Keeno ’13
Callie Neilson ’13
Emily Waterhouse ’13
Rachel Yorke ’11


Travis Dickenson ’13
Nick Edwards ’11
Robbie Heflin ’13
Jeff Katz ’11
Sean Legister ’11
Ian Mahoney ’12
Brian Merrigan ’11
Rick Morgan ’11
Charlie Pratt ’11
Matt Rawson ’12
Andrew Reed ’12
Isaac Rowner ’11

Field Hockey
Stephanie Clegg ’12
Nomi Conway ’13
Carly Dudzik ’12
Rachel Egan ’11
Carly Leahy ’11
Liz Schink ’11
Casey Silver ’12

Men’s Soccer
Sam Kaplan ’12
T.J. Kelley ’12
Lennard Kovacs ’12
Chris Lerner ’13
David Masterman ’12
James Mooney ’12
Ian Rothkopf ’11
Alejandro Sucre ’13
Federico Sucre ’13
Thebe Tsatsimpe ’11

Women’s Soccer
Allison Dorey ’12
Drew Douglas-Steele ’13
Claire Galiette ’11
Maureen Griffin ’11
Jackie Hirsch ’11
Bridget Keller ’13
Jill Kochanek ’12
Sandy Shepherd ’13
Jess Wall ’12