Browne, Lusardi Named All-NESCAC

Contact: Matthew Hart

NESCAC Primary Logo

HADLEY, Mass. – Amherst College squash players Noah Browne ’16 and Chandler Lusardi ’13 earned All-NESCAC honors Tuesday as the conference announced its end of the season awards. Browne added to his impressive rookie season atop the Lord Jeff lineup as one of three first-year men to earn first team recognition, while Lusardi picked up her first career all-conference award with a spot on the women’s second team.

Taking a 13-7 individual record into this weekend’s CSA National Team Championships, Browne has starred at No. 1 for Amherst in his first season in purple and white. The Paget, Bermuda native owns a 9-3 record against NESCAC competition, with his only setbacks coming to fellow first-team honorees Kevin Chen ’15 of Williams and Andrew Hilboldt ’13 of Bowdoin as well as conference Player and Rookie of the Year Ahmed Abdel Khalek ’16 of Bates.

Browne also owns wins over Chen and Hilboldt in addition to triumphs over first-team picks Jay Dolan ’13 of Middlebury and John Steele ’14 of Wesleyan. The first-year has been especially dominant of late, winning five of his last six via triumphs over Steele and Chen at the Little Three Championship and a 3-1 performance at the NESCAC tournament.

Lusardi, meanwhile, has proven both durable and reliable atop the Jeff lineup this winter, playing at No. 1 in all 23 of Amherst’s matches and posting a 13-10 individual record. The New York City native went 8-3 against NESCAC opponents, including three wins over first-team pick Mary Foster ’14 of Wesleyan and triumphs of fellow second-team selections Torey Lee ’15 of Bowdoin and Middlebury’s Abby Jenkins ’14. The senior’s lone league setbacks came to a trio of first-team picks in Alli Rubin ’13 of Williams and Bates’ Nessrine Ariffin ’15 and Cheri-Ann Parris ’13.

After the Amherst men compete at the team national championships beginning on Friday, both Browne and Lusardi will likely wrap up their outstanding seasons at the CSA Individual Championships, hosted by Trinity March 1-3.

Complete Men's All-NESCAC Teams

Complete Women's All-NESCAC Teams