NESCAC Releases Winter All-Academic List

HADLEY, Mass. – Eighty-eight Amherst College student-athletes were honored for excellence in the classroom on Tuesday as the NESCAC released its Winter All-Academic selections. To receive the award, an individual must have reached sophomore academic standing and be a varsity letter-winner with a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.35. A transfer student must have completed one year of study at the institution.

Amherst’s 88 honorees marks the highest total among conference institutions without varsity fencing, skiing or wrestling programs. Overall, Middlebury (117) earned the most awards followed by Tufts (107), Colby (95) and Williams (90). Wesleyan was just behind Amherst with 87 on the list, while Bates (67), Connecticut College (66), Hamilton (41) and Trinity (36) round out the totals.

Leading the way were the Lord Jeff swimming and diving and indoor track and field programs, with a combined 25 swimmers (12 men, 13 women) and 22 harriers (12 men, 10 women) earning recognition. The ice hockey and squash teams were also well-represented, with 10 members of the men’s hockey team on the list alongside eight from the women’s squad and the squash program combining for 15 awards (seven men, eight women). Amherst’s NESCAC champion basketball programs rounded out the winter teams with four men and three women landing on the list.

Fourteen Amherst seniors earned the distinction of becoming three-time winter All-Academic picks, including Nick Brunette, Dylan Trumble and Johnny Van Siclen of men’s hockey and Chandler Lusardi, Sarah Nyirjesy and Ginny Wheeler of women’s squash. Swimmers Nicole Heise, Will McCartan, Alex Pearlman and Maddy Sprung-Keyser also earned their third consecutive award along with Dillon Buckley, Andrew Erskine, Kristen Moulton and Elodie Reed of the track and field programs.

Four winter student-athletes notched the impressive distinction of earning both NESCAC All-Academic and All-America honors in their sports. Seniors Geneva Lloyd of women’s hockey and Marcia Voigt of women’s basketball were each voted among the nation’s top players while also excelling in the classroom while Keri Lambert ’13 and Matt Melton ’14 also notched All-America performances at the national indoor track championships in addition to earning the conference’s academic honor.

The conference also recently released its winter All-Sportsmanship Teams, with honorees selected by the players and coaches from their respective teams. Representing Amherst were Tom Killian ’14 (men’s basketball), Voigt, Brandon Hew ’13 (men’s hockey), Megan Doyen ’13 (women’s hockey), Charles Loesch-Quintin ’13 (men’s squash), Taryn Clary ’16 (women’s squash), Connor Beaulieu ’14 (men’s swimming and diving) and Catherine Maguire ’14 (women’s swimming and diving).

Complete NESCAC All-Academic Release

Complete NESCAC All-Sportsmanship Release